Author Topic: caught in an update loop can't update  (Read 2996 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sandy55

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
caught in an update loop can't update
« on: July 24, 2018, 03:32:04 AM »
 message to update avast... try to.
message states... last encountered error setup is already running... initializing please wait.. never starts or finishes...turned off computer restart everything... same result.  I am caught in a loop... can't get out.
win 8.1 (64) avast version 18.5.2342(build) 18.5.3931.0 apparently this is Premier version according to an internet search on that version number above.. tho it does not state this in about or any other place on my computer...

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: caught in an update loop can't update
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2018, 05:08:13 AM »
Repair Avast:
1. Control Panel -> Add/Remove programs -> Avast
2. Click on 'Repair'.
3. Follow instructions.
4. Reboot.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline sandy55

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: caught in an update loop can't update
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2018, 05:20:09 AM »
I get two choices uninstall and change ... I do not get the repair option.
win 8.1 (64) avast version 18.5.2342(build) 18.5.3931.0 apparently this is Premier version according to an internet search on that version number above.. tho it does not state this in about or any other place on my computer...

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: caught in an update loop can't update
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2018, 05:25:01 AM »
- Which Avast..? (Free/Pro/IS/Premier)
- Which version..?
- OS..? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP/Build..?)
- Other security related software installed..?
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline sandy55

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: caught in an update loop can't update
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2018, 05:25:42 AM »
out of options I hit change "Setup is already running.  Please try to start the setup later. " 
view log is an option and ok... that is all folks no repair.

took a look at the log it was empty... if that means anything
win 8.1 (64) avast version 18.5.2342(build) 18.5.3931.0 apparently this is Premier version according to an internet search on that version number above.. tho it does not state this in about or any other place on my computer...

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: caught in an update loop can't update
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2018, 05:27:36 AM »
See Reply #3.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline sandy55

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: caught in an update loop can't update
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2018, 05:31:42 AM »
I don't know... any of the things I am suppose to know.  So I can't tell you.
I have the paid version of Avast using windows 8.1
How do I find out which version of avast I have?
win 8.1 (64) avast version 18.5.2342(build) 18.5.3931.0 apparently this is Premier version according to an internet search on that version number above.. tho it does not state this in about or any other place on my computer...

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: caught in an update loop can't update
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2018, 05:42:42 AM »
Right click the tray icon and choose "About Avast".
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline sandy55

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: caught in an update loop can't update
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2018, 05:44:15 AM »
avast version 18.5.2342(build) 18.5.3931.0
win 8.1 (64) avast version 18.5.2342(build) 18.5.3931.0 apparently this is Premier version according to an internet search on that version number above.. tho it does not state this in about or any other place on my computer...

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: caught in an update loop can't update
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2018, 05:45:18 AM »
avast version 18.5.2342(build) 18.5.3931.0
OK, but which Avast..? (Free/Pro/IS/Premier)
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline sandy55

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: caught in an update loop can't update
« Reply #10 on: July 24, 2018, 06:05:13 AM »
In about avast it told me only the program version not the name.

it was not free
win 8.1 (64) avast version 18.5.2342(build) 18.5.3931.0 apparently this is Premier version according to an internet search on that version number above.. tho it does not state this in about or any other place on my computer...

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: caught in an update loop can't update
« Reply #11 on: July 24, 2018, 06:10:36 AM »
In about avast it told me only the program version not the name.
It's right above programversion. Or open the GUI and you'll find it in top left corner as well.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline sandy55

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: caught in an update loop can't update
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2018, 02:30:12 PM »
I took a look at where others have the avast version I see where it is suppose to be... however on my version in that space it says avast internet security and that is all..... no idea why. I have sent a message to feedback maybe they can help me in the mean time this is the only site I feel ok to use so I am once again not able to use my computer (I choose not to have my computer vulnerable to attack that is why I bought avast in the first place )due to an avast issue.... at this point I am not a happy customer.
win 8.1 (64) avast version 18.5.2342(build) 18.5.3931.0 apparently this is Premier version according to an internet search on that version number above.. tho it does not state this in about or any other place on my computer...

Offline sandy55

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: caught in an update loop can't update
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2018, 02:36:21 PM »
avast version 18.5.2342(build) 18.5.3931.0

according to a search and look at all my computer programs this is the version.. no name other than avast internet security...
« Last Edit: July 25, 2018, 02:48:56 PM by sandy55 »
win 8.1 (64) avast version 18.5.2342(build) 18.5.3931.0 apparently this is Premier version according to an internet search on that version number above.. tho it does not state this in about or any other place on my computer...

Offline sandy55

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: caught in an update loop can't update
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2018, 02:38:46 PM »
according to this
"Avast Premier 18.5.2342 (build 18.5.3931.0) Pro + License File |...
www.youtube.com/watch?v=hoqd2T1aUDQ
Download Avast Premier v. 18.5.2342 with License file valid till 2038. ... Avast Premier 18.5.2342 (build 18.5.3931.0) Pro + License File ..."

I am using Premier... tho it does not state it anyplace on any of the files I can find on my computer or in about avast.
win 8.1 (64) avast version 18.5.2342(build) 18.5.3931.0 apparently this is Premier version according to an internet search on that version number above.. tho it does not state this in about or any other place on my computer...