Author Topic: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"  (Read 38664 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RichardEb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« on: July 30, 2018, 01:27:47 PM »
Hello,

I'm using Avast Business Manages (cloud hosting). At the moment none of my clients can retrieve (definition) updates. I allways get the error  "DNS Resolve has failed".

Any Ideas? Which URL ist Avast resolving there? (If you can give me the url I can check my dns Server for problems). But any other DNS Requests work properly.

Thx

it@rpc-nh.org

  • Guest
Re: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2018, 07:48:56 PM »
I am having the same issue.  All of my machines are unable to pull updates from the server with the "DNS resolve has failed" error.

Offline EDV@RT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2018, 11:54:33 AM »
Same issue here.

dytlief.moller@gmail.com

  • Guest
Re: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2018, 01:18:04 PM »
Hi,

We are receiving many reports of this from On-premise and Cloud based console installs.(with or without local update mirror/master agents)

Can we speedily resolve?

info@electa.de

  • Guest
Re: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2018, 01:57:11 PM »
We are using cloud based management console and already tested with and without local update mirror.
Problem also seen at multiple multiple sites (we are IT solution provider and installed Avast Business at multiple customer's sites).

Best regards.

robert_bramble@hotmail.com

  • Guest
Re: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2018, 02:48:01 AM »
Ditto.

Some of our customer installations seem to work fine. But others are suffering from the DNS Resolve has failed problem. This is despite changing DNS servers to Google's DNS to see if this worked (it didn't). Reinstalling on one Windows 10 machine has worked. But reinstalling on a Windows Server 2012 computer didn't.

Looking forward to a resolution...

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 75480
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2018, 08:13:22 AM »
Hi guys, I forwarded it. Let's see...
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.5.7253.B [UI.706] - Firefox ESR 91.9.1 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 101.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - Driver Updater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.0
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline jaromir

  • Avast team
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2018, 10:42:57 AM »
Can you, please, generate support package and send us package ID? How to generate support package can be found at https://support.avast.com/cs-cz/article/Submit-support-file https://support.avast.com/en-ww/article/Submit-support-file (thanks Asyn)
« Last Edit: August 08, 2018, 12:19:19 PM by jaromir »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 75480
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2018, 10:56:18 AM »
Can you, please, generate support package and send us package ID? How to generate support package can be found at https://support.avast.com/cs-cz/article/Submit-support-file
English version: https://support.avast.com/en-ww/article/Submit-support-file
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.5.7253.B [UI.706] - Firefox ESR 91.9.1 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 101.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - Driver Updater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.0
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline TruLife Optics Ltd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2018, 11:21:15 AM »
I've been seeing this same issue for the best part of 2 weeks now on my entire estate with Avast Business Cloudcare.

Several conference calls with Avast 2/3 tier (when they're not a. Not in at the time we've been told to call or b. On vacation!!!!!) via our re-seller and the best they can come up with - "it's your DNS".

I'd post my reply to that - but it is unprintable in polite language. I'm also going to forward a link to this topic to my re-seller. It might help them focus their anger on Avast when the revenue stream from us is terminated because Avast have broken something and refuse to even admit they have a problem.


« Last Edit: August 08, 2018, 11:23:16 AM by Colour Holographic Ltd »

Offline Johan109

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2018, 03:50:32 PM »
Same issue for the last two weeks, cloud 900 users. Please just fix it avast just moved over to Avast come on Avast.

mustangcomputers.net@gmail.com

  • Guest
Re: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2018, 08:15:54 AM »
Also seeing this since June. I am looking for a refund for all the time that was paid for and protection defunked. This is not ok, this needs to be addressed ASAP. This is not business class.

Offline jaromir

  • Avast team
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2018, 10:36:57 AM »
Unless we see your specific support package, we cannot say if it is the same issue. When avast cannot get package with one method it tries another cycling IPv4 and IPv6 and http and https and using curl and winhttp. Messages in the log might be misleading. For instance some hosts do not resolve to IPv6 (intentionally) and such retry is always logged. If your log looks like snippet below, problem is with highlighted lines, remaining stuff in the log (DNS resolving) is just consequence that avast could not connect to server. We are continuing investigation and once we know more we will let you now.


[2018-07-13 02:32:38.193] [warning] [settings   ] [ 4672: 3904] Did not find any values in file 'C:\ProgramData\AVAST Software\Avast\burger_client.ini'
[2018-07-13 02:32:39.865] [error  ] [Ares       ] [ 4672: 3064] Unable to resolve hosts after 1671 ms (258, ?)
[2018-07-13 02:32:39.880] [info   ] [servers    ] [ 4672: 3064] 'http://w3072800.iabs.u.avast.com/iabs' with [62.245.136.56] chosen for 'program'
[2018-07-13 02:33:01.084] [error  ] [Curl       ] [ 4672: 3064] 'http://w3072800.iabs.u.avast.com/iabs/servers.def.vpx' from [62.245.136.56] was not downloaded (12007, Couldn't connect to server)

[2018-07-13 02:33:01.084] [warning] [dldwrap    ] [ 4672: 3064] HttpGet: download type switched to WinHttp IPv4
[2018-07-13 02:33:03.084] [info   ] [servers    ] [ 4672: 3064] 'http://d3831337.iabs.u.avast.com/iabs' with [62.245.136.56] chosen for 'program'
[2018-07-13 02:33:24.099] [error  ] [WinHttp    ] [ 4672: 3064] 'http://d3831337.iabs.u.avast.com/iabs/servers.def.vpx' from [62.245.136.56] was not downloaded (12002, ?)
[2018-07-13 02:33:24.099] [warning] [dldwrap    ] [ 4672: 3064] HttpGet: download type switched to Curl IPv6
[2018-07-13 02:33:26.099] [warning] [servers    ] [ 4672: 3064] There is no suitable url for 'program' with IPv6 and http
[2018-07-13 02:33:26.099] [warning] [dldwrap    ] [ 4672: 3064] HttpGet: download type switched to WinHttp IPv6
[2018-07-13 02:33:29.771] [error  ] [Ares       ] [ 4672: 3064] Unable to resolve hosts after 1671 ms (258, ?)
[2018-07-13 02:33:29.771] [warning] [servers    ] [ 4672: 3064] There is no suitable url for 'program' with IPv6 and http
[2018-07-13 02:33:29.771] [warning] [dldwrap    ] [ 4672: 3064] HttpGet: download type switched to Curl IPv4
« Last Edit: August 09, 2018, 10:41:33 AM by jaromir »

Offline Libor Ambruz

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1009
Re: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2018, 04:03:49 PM »
You'll be contacted by technical support representatives in order to get debug log files.

Offline Aleksandr Nazaryan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Avast Business Managed: "DNS Resolve has failed"
« Reply #14 on: August 12, 2018, 03:16:47 PM »
In my case I see "DNS resolve has failed" only for machines which are placed under Group with "Always update from Avast servers" checkbox is clear.
But after that failure error display updates are being pulled from Local Update server (located by IP address), you can see the screenshots in attached screenshots.
I guess "DNS resolve has failed" relates to failure to resolve Local Update server hostname.

When "Always update from Avast servers" checkbox is checked, then no DNS resolve error is displayed and updates are pulled only from Internet.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2018, 03:42:17 PM by Aleksandr Nazaryan »