Author Topic: New Beta version 18.6.2349  (Read 12788 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline petr.kolacek

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 294
New Beta version 18.6.2349
« on: August 20, 2018, 01:44:25 PM »
Hi everyone,

new beta version 18.6.2349 (build 18.6.3983) is released.

This is the Release Candidate for PUBLIC channel with final "tunning" changes ;-)

Download links:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=179943.0

Enjoy this beta!
We are looking forward to your feedback.

AVAST Team.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2018, 04:09:57 PM by hectic-mmv »

Offline Vitdom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: New Beta version 18.6.2349
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2018, 02:54:59 PM »
After running a Smart Scan, the Avast main UI disappeared and this window popped-up. There was no internet outage. "Reloading" solved it.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7170
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: New Beta version 18.6.2349
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2018, 06:20:12 PM »
Auto update fine.
No issue here with GUI disappearing after Smart Scan. All working fine here.  :)

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: New Beta version 18.6.2349
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2018, 09:56:38 PM »
ENG: Hello. In World of Tanks, when the power maximazition is turned on, the screen turns black and the game crashes.

CZ:Dobrý den.Ve hře World of Tanks při zapnuté maximalizaci výkonu dochází k zčernání obrazovky a k pádům hry.

Offline FranceBB1

  • FranceBB
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Broadcast Encoder
    • Github Account
Re: New Beta version 18.6.2349
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2018, 12:02:19 AM »
Auto-updated, it works, but just like 18.6.2347 (build 18.6.3973) and 18.6.2348 (build 18.6.3977) TLS1.3 in Mozilla Firefox 52.9 ESR doesn't work when HTTPS Scan is enabled.
Does Avast rely on windows crypto.dll to scan the cryptography used?
I'm thinking about crypt32.dll, 'cause, for instance, Windows XP is not actually able to load TLS1.3 using crypto.dll, so all the browsers who rely on the default Windows engine can't load them (Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Chromium ecc).
Anyway, Microsoft will also release an update to support TLS1.3 later on the next year for companies who have the paid Extended Support and for Windows Embedded POSReady 2009 users.
Firefox, however, has its own cryptography manager and handles TLS1.3 just fine under XP already, but as long as Avast is not able to scan it and blocks its traffic, it's pretty much useless.
I know that TLS1.3 is still yet to be deployed for many sites, but since version 18 is gonna be the latest version of Avast supported on XP, it would be nice to have TLS1.3 supported before the end of support.

Thank you in advance,
Frank.

OS: Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 x86 - Microsoft Extended Support.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2018, 01:02:45 PM by FranceBB1 »
Main: ESET Nod32  - Fedora Linux x64
Work: Avast Premier  - Windows XP Professional SP3 x86 - Microsoft Official Extended Support (2019)
Server: Symantec Endpoint Protection  - Windows Server 2019 x64

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76037
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: New Beta version 18.6.2349
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2018, 05:41:40 AM »
Thanks Petr, testing...
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76037
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: New Beta version 18.6.2349
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2018, 07:36:19 AM »
I don't have DND installed but it shows up in the GUI (loading endlessly).
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5486
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: New Beta version 18.6.2349
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2018, 02:49:03 PM »
Thanks for the new beta :)
Desktop: Win10 Pro 22H2 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 32GB RAM / Avast 23 Premium Beta(Icarus) / Comodo Firewall
Notebook: Win10 Pro 22H2 64bit / Core i5-3340M 2.7GHz / 12GB RAM / Avast 23 Free / Windows Firewall Control
Server: Win11 Pro 23H2 64bit / Core i3-4010U 1.7GHz / 12GB RAM / Avast One 23 Essential

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7170
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: New Beta version 18.6.2349
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2018, 05:40:15 PM »
I don't have DND installed but it shows up in the GUI (loading endlessly).

+1
Also here in AIS

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89002
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New Beta version 18.6.2349
« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2018, 05:44:56 PM »
I don't have DND installed but it shows up in the GUI (loading endlessly).

+1
Also here in AIS

Is is also like that in the New 18.6.2349 (just released) version, not the beta and not the RC version but the NEW Version with the same bloody version number.

I really do hate this practice of keeping the same version number when going from beta or RC version to regular program update release.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.3.6108 (build 24.3.8975.762) UI 1.0.801/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline alanb

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 652
Re: New Beta version 18.6.2349
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2018, 07:28:35 PM »
Quote
I really do hate this practice of keeping the same version number when going from beta or RC version to regular program update release.

+1

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7170
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: New Beta version 18.6.2349
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2018, 08:46:22 PM »
I don't have DND installed but it shows up in the GUI (loading endlessly).

+1
Also here in AIS

Is is also like that in the New 18.6.2349 (just released) version, not the beta and not the RC version but the NEW Version with the same bloody version number.

I really do hate this practice of keeping the same version number when going from beta or RC version to regular program update release.

Agreed David
It's not logical and is confusing.

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3398
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: New Beta version 18.6.2349
« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2018, 08:47:03 AM »
Is it also like that in the New 18.6.2349 (just released) version, not the beta and not the RC version but the NEW Version with the same bloody version number.

I really do hate this practice of keeping the same version number when going from beta or RC version to regular program update release.

I strongly agree with David on this very important issue before releasing the final version.
Gigabyte 670 LGA1200 Full ATX MB | Intel Core i9-13900 CPU/LGA 1700 | GeForce Nvidia RTX-4070/12GB | 32GB DDR4 | 2 x 1TB Samsung SSD | W11 Home 64bit | Avast Premium v24.3.6108 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | Firefox 64bit | MalwareBytes Premium | Adguard Premium | CCleaner Portable | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Offline Filip Braun

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 97
Re: New Beta version 18.6.2349
« Reply #13 on: August 22, 2018, 10:15:57 AM »
Auto-updated, it works, but just like 18.6.2347 (build 18.6.3973) and 18.6.2348 (build 18.6.3977) TLS1.3 in Mozilla Firefox 52.9 ESR doesn't work when HTTPS Scan is enabled.
Does Avast rely on windows crypto.dll to scan the cryptography used?
I'm thinking about crypto.dll, 'cause, for instance, Windows XP is not actually able to load TLS1.3 using crypto.dll, so all the browsers who rely on the default Windows engine can't load them (Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Chromium ecc).
Anyway, Microsoft will also release an update to support TLS1.3 later on the next year for companies who have the paid Extended Support and for Windows Embedded POSReady 2009 users.
Firefox, however, has its own cryptography manager and handles TLS1.3 just fine under XP already, but as long as Avast is not able to scan it and blocks its traffic, it's pretty much useless.
I know that TLS1.3 is still yet to be deployed for many sites, but since version 18 is gonna be the latest version of Avast supported on XP, it would be nice to have TLS1.3 supported before the end of support.

Thank you in advance,
Frank.

OS: Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 x86 - Microsoft Extended Support.

Thank you, we'll check out what's going on.

Offline FranceBB1

  • FranceBB
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Broadcast Encoder
    • Github Account
Re: New Beta version 18.6.2349
« Reply #14 on: August 28, 2018, 01:03:34 PM »
By the way, I made a typo. I obviously meant crypt32.dll.
Main: ESET Nod32  - Fedora Linux x64
Work: Avast Premier  - Windows XP Professional SP3 x86 - Microsoft Official Extended Support (2019)
Server: Symantec Endpoint Protection  - Windows Server 2019 x64