Author Topic: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch  (Read 4649 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hannon31

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« on: September 20, 2018, 10:42:48 PM »
Hi Guys,

Just started to use the Avast Browser, and I kind of like it better than Chrome. It might be me, but I think it is a wee bit faster and easier to use, than GC. That being said, I am having an issue with Tabs, that I hope someone can help with ?

Using Twitter and Facebook, as examples of my problem, it seems as though whenever I click on an article to view on FB or T, in my news feed, and it opens up in a new tab, when I close the tab, after reading, the original FB or T tab, resets itself, and shoots back up to the top of the page, starting from scratch. So, if I had scrolled down to the bottom of my FB or T page to read the article, and close the new tab, it brings me all the way back to the top, forcing me to scroll all the way down again, to pick up where I left off. And this happens EVERY time. Only if I click on the article post to 'open in a new window' does this not cause the issue. This does not happen on any other browser I have used, so is there some kind of setting I can use in Avast to stop the original tab page to not reset, upon opening a new tab ?

Much obliged for any help.

Thanks !

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5973
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2018, 06:23:50 AM »
« Last Edit: September 24, 2018, 06:25:38 AM by schmidthouse »
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premier 19.7.2388 /VS 5.01(WC)/ASB/Mbam/Secureline b. 5.4/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premier BETA 19.7.2388 /VS 5.01(WC)/ASB beta/Secureline b 5.4/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2000)18.8.2356/OSA/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION ALL OS's>

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41218
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2018, 12:54:25 PM »
Reported to Avast.
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline hannon31

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2018, 05:21:01 PM »
Thanks for reporting. I see that I am not the only one this is happening to, so hopefully, this can be fixed ?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41218
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2018, 04:08:41 PM »
Thanks for reporting. I see that I am not the only one this is happening to, so hopefully, this can be fixed ?
I can't reproduce the reported problem and Avast can't either.
Have you changed any settings in the browser?
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5973
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2018, 06:18:49 PM »
Thanks for reporting. I see that I am not the only one this is happening to, so hopefully, this can be fixed ?
I can't reproduce the reported problem and Avast can't either.
Have you changed any settings in the browser?

I have also tried to reproduce this issue and can't
All good here with ASB on WIn 10 64 Bit
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premier 19.7.2388 /VS 5.01(WC)/ASB/Mbam/Secureline b. 5.4/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premier BETA 19.7.2388 /VS 5.01(WC)/ASB beta/Secureline b 5.4/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2000)18.8.2356/OSA/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION ALL OS's>

Offline hannon31

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2018, 09:09:50 PM »
No, I have not changed any of the browser's settings, since I started to use it when it was originally installed. However, I am using it on XP, so could that be why it is happening ?

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5973
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2018, 09:51:19 PM »
No, I have not changed any of the browser's settings, since I started to use it when it was originally installed. However, I am using it on XP, so could that be why it is happening ?

I also have an XP machine I use for in office stuff, I don't have ASB on that system nor have I tried to install the Browser on that system so I can't speak to how ASB operates with XP.
I can add however, that with XP anything (and many things) can ocurr as conflict with an OS as old as XP. :-\
« Last Edit: October 11, 2018, 09:53:14 PM by schmidthouse »
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premier 19.7.2388 /VS 5.01(WC)/ASB/Mbam/Secureline b. 5.4/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premier BETA 19.7.2388 /VS 5.01(WC)/ASB beta/Secureline b 5.4/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2000)18.8.2356/OSA/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION ALL OS's>

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41218
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2018, 10:19:09 PM »
No, I have not changed any of the browser's settings, since I started to use it when it was originally installed. However, I am using it on XP, so could that be why it is happening ?
I'll give you an answer as soon as I get a reply from Avast. :) I haven't used XP in may years and can't do any testing on that system.
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 60268
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2018, 05:40:00 AM »
Hi, you need at least W7 to run ASB - XP and Vista aren't supported.
Windows 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premium 19.7.2388.BC - CC 5.60 - EEK - Firefox ESR 60.8 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.8 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523

Offline hannon31

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2018, 05:56:10 AM »
Really ? Because other than that one 'tab' issue I mentioned, the browser is working fine on my XP system, and actually is even better and faster than Chrome.   :)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 60268
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2018, 06:05:59 AM »
Yes, see: https://www.avast.com/secure-browser
Are you maybe running the old SafeZone browser..!?
Windows 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premium 19.7.2388.BC - CC 5.60 - EEK - Firefox ESR 60.8 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.8 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523

Offline hannon31

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2018, 06:25:55 AM »
Yes, see: https://www.avast.com/secure-browser
Are you maybe running the old SafeZone browser..!?


I don't think it's the SafeZone browser. It says Avast Secure Browser Version 49.0.79.76. on the About page.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 60268
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2018, 06:41:04 AM »
Yes, see: https://www.avast.com/secure-browser
Are you maybe running the old SafeZone browser..!?
I don't think it's the SafeZone browser. It says Avast Secure Browser Version 49.0.79.76. on the About page.
That's strange..!! There never was a V49.0 of ASB - the first openly available version was V64.0 back in April.

Edit: I stand corrected, just heard there's indeed a version for XP/Vista but it's a bit complicated to explain. Hopefully one of the devs will chime in...
« Last Edit: October 12, 2018, 09:25:34 AM by Asyn »
Windows 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premium 19.7.2388.BC - CC 5.60 - EEK - Firefox ESR 60.8 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.8 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523

Offline hannon31

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2018, 05:15:18 PM »
Yes, see: https://www.avast.com/secure-browser
Are you maybe running the old SafeZone browser..!?
I don't think it's the SafeZone browser. It says Avast Secure Browser Version 49.0.79.76. on the About page.
That's strange..!! There never was a V49.0 of ASB - the first openly available version was V64.0 back in April.

Edit: I stand corrected, just heard there's indeed a version for XP/Vista but it's a bit complicated to explain. Hopefully one of the devs will chime in...

Well, any way that gets that 'tab' problem fixed, I welcome !  :)