Author Topic: Ashserv error  (Read 15498 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fredra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #30 on: January 17, 2004, 10:44:30 PM »
Update from this user.
I had a small spare box and I installed W2K, Office 2000 and hooked it up to my router to get internet access. Then I installed AVAST with no problems.
None on installation and none when exiting W2k...no ashserv error message.
Now I do recognize that I am dealing with two different operating systems, but I wanted to rule out any flawed or missed installation steps, which I may have missed when I did the installation on my laptop.
I have no "unp" files, and the update went smoothly.
I am still trying here...not given up yet.
Hey Vik?...did you see/find anything in 'notyetdark's'  unp file to shed any light on this particular error message from "ashserv"?
Thanks for your help guys.
Cheers :)
Update...I uninstalled AVAST (using add/remove and the removal program), now we will see whether I still get these errors at shutdown.
Wish me luck  ::)
« Last Edit: January 18, 2004, 06:14:37 AM by fredra »

Offline fredra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #31 on: January 22, 2004, 06:42:46 PM »
I gave up and removed AVAST as I couldn't fix the 'error' I was getting from "ashserv" on closing XP.
I have to admit that I did like AVAST and it did work. I was even tolerating the slow shutdowns in XP, however, I couldn't find the problem with the error mesage.
Thanks to all who tried to help, the assistance was appreciated.
Cheers
P.S. If I ever change my laptop for a newer one, I will reinstall AVAST on the new laptop.
Moderators may feel free to remove this thread...thanks  ::)
« Last Edit: January 22, 2004, 06:44:45 PM by fredra »

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #32 on: January 22, 2004, 06:44:16 PM »
Did it happen even with the 4.1.335 update?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline fredra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #33 on: January 22, 2004, 06:47:22 PM »
Sorry Vik...I was editing and didn't see your post.
I didn't try the 4.1.335 update.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #34 on: January 22, 2004, 06:56:00 PM »
Well there's a small chance that the new update could've fixed the problem. ;)

Never mind...
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline jonv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #35 on: January 22, 2004, 10:13:21 PM »
Also, the update do fix the memory errors on shutdown of some programs on xp, isn't exactly listed as such i don't think and its also in one of the non critical updates. had a similar problem when some ati software, there was a fix for some other program that also fixed this listed on the ati support site. but one of the non-critical updates for xp worked too.

Offline stevejrc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #36 on: February 08, 2004, 02:57:07 AM »
I found some unp files in the log folder, latest one unp2006  7-feb-04.

Although I have never seen any error messages or had any problems with Avast!  The PC hardly ever crashes either.

The logs seem to be created at shutdown time every few days.

------------
Fault source
------------
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashserv.exe caused an Access Violation at location 77fcc992 in module ntdll.dll Writing to location 00000000.

I can send more details...
Steve