Author Topic: Reboot of the computer  (Read 14728 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline brins

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #15 on: August 07, 2006, 02:36:59 PM »
hello sorry but i've a problem (sorry for my terrible english).
i've installed avast home 4.7 (without unistalling my antivirus bitdefender),
i'm on win2k, at the end of installation i agreed to boot scan,
when i reboot, it display a blu screen error, the error say (sorry i try to translate literally):
"c0000139"{can't find entry point} can't find entry point _aulldvrm of the procedure in the library (...) ntdll.dll"
i'm now on my secondary hd with another os, what i've to do??
« Last Edit: August 07, 2006, 02:51:53 PM by brins »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #16 on: August 07, 2006, 03:06:43 PM »
when i reboot, it display a blu screen error, the error say (sorry i try to translate literally):
"c0000139"{can't find entry point} can't find entry point _aulldvrm of the procedure in the library (...) ntdll.dll"
i'm now on my secondary hd with another os, what i've to do??
Can you boot in Safe Mode and uninstall BitDefender and/or avast?
The best things in life are free.

Offline brins

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #17 on: August 07, 2006, 04:28:59 PM »
no, it diplay the same error in the safe mode..
i think that the only way to skip the error is to prevent the boot
scan, but how can i do this?i can access to that hd only in offline mode.. please save me!
« Last Edit: August 07, 2006, 04:33:15 PM by brins »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #18 on: August 07, 2006, 05:52:19 PM »
no, it diplay the same error in the safe mode..
i think that the only way to skip the error is to prevent the boot
scan, but how can i do this
Well... the scan boot could be canceled by clicking ESC.
Could you do that or the error occurs even before you can click ESC?
The best things in life are free.

Offline brins

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #19 on: August 07, 2006, 06:00:39 PM »
i can't it display error just a little bit before the execution of the scan (i suppose)
« Last Edit: August 07, 2006, 06:07:14 PM by brins »

Offline brins

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #20 on: August 07, 2006, 06:39:56 PM »
problem solved by restoring old windows profile, sorry for the time lost

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11752
    • AVAST Software
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #21 on: August 07, 2006, 07:44:19 PM »
The mentioned behavior is actually an avast! problem with the boot-time scanner, occuring under Windows 2000 or NT4. It will be fixed soon - sorry for the troubles.

Correction: I'm referring to brins post, i.e. to the c0000139 bluescreen error.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2006, 08:02:11 PM by igor »

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31345
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #22 on: August 07, 2006, 07:50:44 PM »
That is why you have to like avast.
The team always admit it when there is a bug and they will solve it in a short time.
Not misleading users/costomers, just being honest!
That is the way all companies should behave.
Thumbs up for Alwil!

Offline tech_101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #23 on: August 08, 2006, 07:25:07 PM »
I've just experienced the same problem as brin, the c0000139 bluescreen error.  I'm glad you're working on a fix for it, but now I'm wondering if there is a way to repair it short of an OS reinstall.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #24 on: August 08, 2006, 08:26:24 PM »
I've just experienced the same problem as brin, the c0000139 bluescreen error.  I'm glad you're working on a fix for it, but now I'm wondering if there is a way to repair it short of an OS reinstall.
Are you using the last avast version, I mean, today we have an update (4.7.871)
The best things in life are free.

Offline tech_101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #25 on: August 08, 2006, 08:53:58 PM »
I will next time I install avast, but I'm currently looking at a bluescreen and no way to get into windows except reinstalling everything from scratch.

Offline W2K

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #26 on: August 08, 2006, 11:46:04 PM »
The mentioned behavior is actually an avast! problem with the boot-time scanner, occuring under Windows 2000 or NT4. It will be fixed soon - sorry for the troubles.

Correction: I'm referring to brins post, i.e. to the c0000139 bluescreen error.


Will you be providing a solution for those of us who are locked out of our systems?

My system: fully patched W2K SP4

- avast! set to notify of updates but it didn't notify of the current
program update (turns out that notifications are staggered to balance server load).

- used Updating | Program Update to download/install the update.

- began getting notices that my definitions were out of date. Checking for
updates said I was up to date.

- downloaded the installer for the new version.

- uninstalled avast! (reboot)

- installed new version.

- upon reboot, I now get this message:

"STOP: c0000139 {Entry Point Not Found}
The procedure entry point _aulldvrm could not be located in the dynamic link library ntdll.dll ."

--
js

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11752
    • AVAST Software
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #27 on: August 08, 2006, 11:51:37 PM »
Before Windows start to boot, press F8 to invoke the boot menu and select "Last known good" configuration (it may be necessary to press the key "L" afterwards).

Offline W2K

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #28 on: August 09, 2006, 12:34:03 AM »
Before Windows start to boot, press F8 to invoke the boot menu and select "Last known good" configuration (it may be necessary to press the key "L" afterwards).

I tried that yesterday immediately after the problem appeared with no luck.

Tried again now and it worked. It appears that I now have some issues due to my repair efforts but that's my fault.

Thank you very much for your prompt assistance.

--
js

Offline mk2006

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Reboot of the computer
« Reply #29 on: August 09, 2006, 01:41:41 PM »
Hello all.

Unfortunately this approach (F8-Last known good) doesn`t work for me.
I tried it many times - no success.
Isn`t there any other way to turn of the boot scan?
(Maybe change some configuration-file using the recovery-console or smth. like that).

Greetings and thanks in advance.