Author Topic: No more avast for me...  (Read 4492 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

dragon6

  • Guest
No more avast for me...
« on: July 21, 2006, 11:35:36 PM »
I was using avast for some time and things ran perfectly.

I was even going to buy the Pro version of Avast Antivirus but then problems.

Then about 2 weeks ago or so My computer started freezing up and restarting at will.

I spent this past two weeks troubleshooting the issue to find out what it was.

At first I thought PSU or MoBo.

I managed to get the Task manager on my screen and watched what was going on.  The processes that were locking up and using 99%CPU were random and ranged from video to system to avast related.

ashserv.exe
cli.exe
taskmgr.exe
aswupdsv.exe

and several others.

I decided to uninstall avast but that didn't help at that time.

Then I decided to start from scratch and troubleshoot hardware at the same time.

I did a fresh install of windows XP Pro SP2 (all current updates) and gradually added hardware.
I even tried two other PSUs
I got everything back into my computer except ZonAlarm and Avast Antivirus

I DID NOT install ZoneAlarm.

I DID install Avast though...

and that is when all the problems returned.

The moment that I rebooted after installing Avast Antivirus I brought up the taskmanager as I had been to see what was going on.

I rebooted several times and each time it was some process hanging.

I then restored back to the last image I made just before installing Avast and the problems stopped.

So the problem seems not to be between ZoneAlarm and Avast since I did not have ZoneAlarm in my system this time.

The problem is apparently avast.

SO, no more avast for me and no sale here on the pro version of avast.

Looks like I'm back to the memory hog norton's.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: No more avast for me...
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2006, 11:43:14 PM »
cli.exe
What is this process?

I did a fresh install of windows XP Pro SP2 (all current updates) and gradually added hardware.
I even tried two other PSUs
I got everything back into my computer except ZonAlarm and Avast Antivirus
If you go Control Panel > System > Hardware > Dispositives...
Anything strange there, any hardware without support or drivers?

Any other security program at that time, the one you've installed avast?
The best things in life are free.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9408
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: No more avast for me...
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2006, 11:44:45 PM »
First get rid of that ATi Catalyst Control Center junk (use ATi Tray Tools instead if needed). Then we'll talk :P
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

vasant

  • Guest
Re: No more avast for me...
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2006, 04:58:02 PM »
To dragon6

Your computer have PUP (Unknow program form attacker).
You must check spyware now.
all antivirus do not detect it.

You must download antispyware program from other computer, and save , install save on your computer.
And scan by anitspyware.
And delete IE temp file all content now from your computer.

Offline Vuyo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • I'm a llama!
Re: No more avast for me...
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2006, 12:12:37 PM »
Quote
Your computer have PUP (Unknow program form attacker).
You must check spyware now.
all antivirus do not detect it.

Please explain more. I am experiencing the same problem right now. Did you find out what kind of attack it is. Can you please give the name of this unseen program, so that I can try to remove it. I have run avast, avg, karpesky online scanner, bitdefender and they were unable to detect it. I have also run Trend Micro Sysclean, SUPERAntispy, Spybot, Ad-aware, Windows Defender, Rootkitrevealer, Blacklight F-secure rootkit scanner and BitDefender rootkit scanner beta. Have run all these programs in Safe Mode with reboots in between each. They have not been able to find anything. Thanks
Win 10 Pro, avast Pro Antivirus, SpywareBlaster v5, SuperAntiSpyware Pro v8.0.1038, Comodo Firewall.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31119
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: No more avast for me...
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2006, 10:42:37 AM »
Vuyo,

1) did windows created a minidump?
2) do you have auto-reboot disabled?
3) any bsod? If so what is the exact error code?

Offline Vuyo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • I'm a llama!
Re: No more avast for me...
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2006, 03:11:54 PM »
Quote
1) did windows created a minidump?
2) do you have auto-reboot disabled?
3) any bsod? If so what is the exact error code

The answer to all the above questions is no.

I saw this thread while I was reading
this topic on the same problem that I was experiencing.

This is the only problem and avast is the only program that has this issue. I am trying out AVG and it does not have this problem. One time after uninstalling avast, SnopFree told me that there a program called 'te' trying to access my screen. I denied it access. After that I did get another warning. I could not get an information on Google for this 'te' I had just did a reinstall of Windows three months ago, I would hate to do it again. Thanks.
Win 10 Pro, avast Pro Antivirus, SpywareBlaster v5, SuperAntiSpyware Pro v8.0.1038, Comodo Firewall.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31119
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: No more avast for me...
« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2006, 03:41:04 PM »
Well. Disable auto-reboot and write down the error code on the BSOD.
Then take that code to the MS kb and Google and you will find out a lot more.

Offline Vuyo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • I'm a llama!
Re: No more avast for me...
« Reply #8 on: August 01, 2006, 01:48:11 PM »
Thanks. ;D
Win 10 Pro, avast Pro Antivirus, SpywareBlaster v5, SuperAntiSpyware Pro v8.0.1038, Comodo Firewall.