Author Topic: Is there an AVAST Free Antivirus Host unreachable solution?  (Read 418 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline HoJin2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Is there an AVAST Free Antivirus Host unreachable solution?
« on: December 05, 2018, 04:47:57 PM »
Hello, I have an update error that I'm experiencing.
I've followed the solutions described in the avast forum and in various internet communities, but this issue is not resolved.
If you start the update from the setting, the DNS configuration will be skipped and the message "host unreachable" will appear and the update will be aborted.

My internet connection is normal and I do not use VPN.
The firewall is using the comodo firewall, and after I quit the program I ran the update again, but I get the same error.
If you have more than one firewall, you do not want to run Windows 7 Basic Firewall but rely on Comodo Firewall.
So, I do not think the Windows 7 default firewall is blocking the avast update executable.

OS: Windows 7 ultimate K 64Bit

Things I've tried.

1. In safe mode, I ran "avastclear.exe" file to completely delete AVAST folder and reboot.
 After that, I run Avast Free Antivirus Offline file and install it.
The virus definition version of the installed program is 181115-4, and the release date is 2018-11-15 PM 8:15:53.
The version of the program is 18.8.2356 (build 18.8.4084.408) and the announcement date is 2018-11-15pm 11:41:44.
Most of the solutions were to clean up the program after uninstalling the program, or to recover it. However, I have reinstalled at least 4 times so far and I have run avastclear.exe several times in the process.

2. Added Avast Free Antivirus in Windwos 7 firewall settings.
This workaround referenced youtube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aKbCsjvLfqE)

3. I tried booting into Windows 7 Safe Mode, trying to repair Avast Free Antivirus from Control Panel and rebooting Windows 7, but nothing better.

4. I would like to install the update manually and download and run Avast VPS update for versions 12+ from the link below.
But it was terminated as soon as it was run.

Will there be a solution that will help me?

Offline =Snake=

  • ..... minden elfelejtettem.
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2209
  • Last day of life often comes earlier than expected
Re: Is there an AVAST Free Antivirus Host unreachable solution?
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2018, 06:59:18 PM »

Will there be a solution that will help me?
You have to decide to one of the firewalls! So, if you like Comodo (like me) more than the MS-FW, you have to deactivate the W7 firewall.
Main: AMD LE1620, W7ult SP1, avast Free 18.8.2356, CIS 3.14[FW, D+], FF ESR 60.4.0[NS, ABP, AOS], TB 60.3.2, MCS, CC 5.50, MBAM, MBAE |

Offline HoJin2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Is there an AVAST Free Antivirus Host unreachable solution?
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2018, 07:43:29 PM »

Will there be a solution that will help me?
You have to decide to one of the firewalls! So, if you like Comodo (like me) more than the MS-FW, you have to deactivate the W7 firewall.

Firewalls use only COMODO Firewall.

Offline =Snake=

  • ..... minden elfelejtettem.
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2209
  • Last day of life often comes earlier than expected
Re: Is there an AVAST Free Antivirus Host unreachable solution?
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2018, 09:26:32 PM »

Will there be a solution that will help me?
You have to decide to one of the firewalls! So, if you like Comodo (like me) more than the MS-FW, you have to deactivate the W7 firewall.

Firewalls use only COMODO Firewall.

Well, I don't think so, for if you still haven't disabled (deactivated) the Windows Firewall, both will be active!!!
You can control it like this:
 -> Start -> Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services
 ->Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS).
If you see 'Automatic' in that line, both Firewalls are active!
« Last Edit: December 05, 2018, 11:17:06 PM by =Snake= »
Main: AMD LE1620, W7ult SP1, avast Free 18.8.2356, CIS 3.14[FW, D+], FF ESR 60.4.0[NS, ABP, AOS], TB 60.3.2, MCS, CC 5.50, MBAM, MBAE |

Offline HoJin2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Is there an AVAST Free Antivirus Host unreachable solution?
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2018, 10:55:16 AM »

Will there be a solution that will help me?
You have to decide to one of the firewalls! So, if you like Comodo (like me) more than the MS-FW, you have to deactivate the W7 firewall.

Firewalls use only COMODO Firewall.

Well, I don't think so, for if you still haven't disabled (deactivated) the Windows Firewall, both will be active!!!
You can control it like this:
 -> Start -> Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services
 ->Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS).
If you see 'Automatic' in that line, both Firewalls are active!


Hmm .... I still have the same problem.
As you replied, I disabled the firewall in serveces.msc and tried to reboot.
However, this problem did not improve.
Should I just format the windows?

Offline =Snake=

  • ..... minden elfelejtettem.
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2209
  • Last day of life often comes earlier than expected
Re: Is there an AVAST Free Antivirus Host unreachable solution?
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2018, 09:42:11 PM »

Will there be a solution that will help me?
You have to decide to one of the firewalls! So, if you like Comodo (like me) more than the MS-FW, you have to deactivate the W7 firewall.

Firewalls use only COMODO Firewall.

Well, I don't think so, for if you still haven't disabled (deactivated) the Windows Firewall, both will be active!!!
You can control it like this:
 -> Start -> Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services
 ->Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS).
If you see 'Automatic' in that line, both Firewalls are active!

1. As you replied, I disabled the firewall in serveces.msc and tried to reboot.

2. Should I just format the windows?

First of all: I'm sorry, that I explained the way under Windows XP!
Here is the way Under Windows 7: Start -> Control Panel -> Administration
                                                                                       -> Services.
Scroll down to 'Windows-Firewall': do you see 'Automatic' or 'Disabled' (at the right side)? What do you see?
Point 1: What is 'serveces.msc'? I don't know it.
Point 2: No.
Be patient and let's get it fixed together. Ok?
Main: AMD LE1620, W7ult SP1, avast Free 18.8.2356, CIS 3.14[FW, D+], FF ESR 60.4.0[NS, ABP, AOS], TB 60.3.2, MCS, CC 5.50, MBAM, MBAE |

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 39304
  • 58 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Is there an AVAST Free Antivirus Host unreachable solution?
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2018, 10:54:59 PM »
Sorry but the simple solution is to dump Comodo.
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 18.7.2354, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline =Snake=

  • ..... minden elfelejtettem.
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2209
  • Last day of life often comes earlier than expected
Re: Is there an AVAST Free Antivirus Host unreachable solution?
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2018, 11:06:22 PM »
Sorry but the simple solution is to dump Comodo.
Well, I expected this answer from you.
Main: AMD LE1620, W7ult SP1, avast Free 18.8.2356, CIS 3.14[FW, D+], FF ESR 60.4.0[NS, ABP, AOS], TB 60.3.2, MCS, CC 5.50, MBAM, MBAE |

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 39304
  • 58 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Is there an AVAST Free Antivirus Host unreachable solution?
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2018, 11:08:26 PM »
Sorry but the simple solution is to dump Comodo.
Well, I expected this answer from you.
As I expected your reply. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 18.7.2354, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline HoJin2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Is there an AVAST Free Antivirus Host unreachable solution?
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2018, 08:58:07 AM »

Will there be a solution that will help me?
You have to decide to one of the firewalls! So, if you like Comodo (like me) more than the MS-FW, you have to deactivate the W7 firewall.

Firewalls use only COMODO Firewall.

Well, I don't think so, for if you still haven't disabled (deactivated) the Windows Firewall, both will be active!!!
You can control it like this:
 -> Start -> Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services
 ->Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS).
If you see 'Automatic' in that line, both Firewalls are active!

1. As you replied, I disabled the firewall in serveces.msc and tried to reboot.

2. Should I just format the windows?

First of all: I'm sorry, that I explained the way under Windows XP!
Here is the way Under Windows 7: Start -> Control Panel -> Administration
                                                                                       -> Services.
Scroll down to 'Windows-Firewall': do you see 'Automatic' or 'Disabled' (at the right side)? What do you see?
Point 1: What is 'serveces.msc'? I don't know it.
Point 2: No.
Be patient and let's get it fixed together. Ok?


Press Windows + R, type 'services.msc' and you should see the same results as 'services' you mentioned. That's what I said.

The state of 'Windows-Firewall' is 'Disabled'.
I do not know why the program was updated so well and why it did not happen suddenly.

And I tried updating today, but I got the same results.

Offline HoJin2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Is there an AVAST Free Antivirus Host unreachable solution?
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2018, 09:15:57 AM »
Sorry but the simple solution is to dump Comodo.
Well, I expected this answer from you.

Damn, I was successful after all.
The comodo firewall was the problem.
I just thought I'd just shut down the comodo firewall program. But that was not it.
On the 'Blocked Applications' tab, right click on the Avast 'instup.exe' file and select 'unblock for security compoents'. Then the update was successful!
I must blame my obnoxious head!

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 39304
  • 58 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Is there an AVAST Free Antivirus Host unreachable solution?
« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2018, 01:30:24 PM »
Sorry but the simple solution is to dump Comodo.
Well, I expected this answer from you.

Damn, I was successful after all.
The comodo firewall was the problem.
I just thought I'd just shut down the comodo firewall program. But that was not it.
On the 'Blocked Applications' tab, right click on the Avast 'instup.exe' file and select 'unblock for security compoents'. Then the update was successful!
I must blame my obnoxious head!
Sorry you proved my comment as correct. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 18.7.2354, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq