Author Topic: today i returned home to find my VPN had been disconnected for most of the day  (Read 5376 times)

REDACTED

im very new to using a VPN. i also understand that occasionally servers encounter problems, heavy traffic, etc. and sometimes they are unavailable. however, it didnt seem like the software attempted a reconnection after it was disconnected. when i returned home, i clicked OK on the dialog box and reconnected manually. i can't figure out if there is an option to reconnect automatically after a disconnection, or if i can choose other locations for it to connect to if the one i've chosen becomes unavailable. i have the 'automatically turn on vpn when connected to the internet' selected but obviously that is not what happened after the location became available again. ultimately i am just concerned that a incidental disconnection will leave my connection insecure when i'm not around for extended periods and i would like to avoid that at all costs. it seems a little nonsensical that the software would provide an error dialog but not attempt to reconnect. please let me know if i am missing anything or if you have any suggestions.

Offline mchain

• Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • Spartan Warrior
Hi angelhair0,

<A little hard to read and understand due to run-on sentences.>

One way to have your VPN automatically reconnect is to log off your current session, and then log back on.

Are you using Avast VPN version 5.1.416?

[EDIT:]  Query applies to Windows based systems only.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2018, 08:30:13 AM by mchain »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 22H2 Avast Premier Security version 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.88821.762)  UI version 1.0.797
 UI version 1.0.788.  Windows 11 Home 23H2 - Windows 11 Pro 23H2 Avast Premier Security version 24.2.6105 (build 24.1.8918.827) UI version 1.0.801

Offline krahulik

Hello,