Author Topic: Installation repeats...  (Read 2704 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ricalaber

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Installation repeats...
« on: January 10, 2004, 02:33:52 PM »
Hey guys...hope someone has an answer to this. My Avast 4.1 Home Version auto-updates just fine for me, but I sometimes hit update anyway & here's what happens every time...it downloads 0% but then installs 157,598 bytes and tells me that Program 4.1.319 and VPS 0312-5 are both up to date. It'll do this same thing all over again if I update it right away any number of times...what might be going on here? I'm running Internet Explorer 6.0 in Windows 98 on a Dell Inspiron 3500 laptop & also have ZoneAlarm, AdAware 6.0, SpyBot, MailWasher & WebWasher in addition to Avast. I have a 56K dial-up connection which usually runs at 52000 bps...I know it sucks, but short of a dish I have no choice here at the moment.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2004, 02:43:30 PM by ricalaber »

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11772
    • AVAST Software
Re:Installation repeats...
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2004, 02:41:50 PM »
Is there any file of (exactly) this size in the avast installation directory, or any of its subdirectories?

Offline ricalaber

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re:Installation repeats...
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2004, 02:50:27 PM »
Sorry I'm not familiar with everything...do you mean the "Log Viewer"? If so, I found about 40 times this was installed beginning on 12-19-03 thru today!
« Last Edit: January 10, 2004, 02:57:00 PM by ricalaber »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Installation repeats...
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2004, 03:45:08 PM »
I think igor wanted to ask you if there is any file with exactly 157,598 bytes into the avast folder (C:\Program files\Alwil ...) or its subdirectories. Probably, he's trying to know what file (if any) is causing the error, i.e., it downloads and 'freezes' the update proccess. Maybe he wants to know other thing  ::)

Did you try to 'repair' the installation through the Control Panel?
Control Panel > Add/Remove Programs > avast antivirus > Change > Choose Repair function

Hope this help  ;)
The best things in life are free.