Author Topic: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?  (Read 4124 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline toponderon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« on: January 06, 2019, 03:49:23 AM »
Hello, would you please tell me if the bank mode bug has been fixed yet? It is such a nice feature I am bummed that it isn't working.

Kindly please inform. Thank you!

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 59488
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2019, 08:56:29 AM »
Unfortunately not. :(
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.6.2381.Beta#3 - CC 5.58 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.7 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.7.1 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline pantantrollo2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2019, 04:08:43 AM »
You have verified that the bankmode extension is enabled.?

In my case after the upgrade to this latest version, and see that the bankmode did not work, check that the extension was disabled, with activate it again, has returned to work without problems.

A greeting

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 59488
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2019, 05:33:08 AM »
Confirmed. Unfortunately, it's off again after restarting ASB.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.6.2381.Beta#3 - CC 5.58 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.7 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.7.1 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40780
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2019, 12:09:37 PM »
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.5.2378, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Re: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2019, 01:08:23 PM »
Egregious friends,
about the problem of refusing to activate the BANK MODE in Avast Premier, following the sending of my negative feedback on the subject,  I received an answer from Mr. Miloš Aleksić (Avast Customer Care) which I thank very much for having indicated the method to remedy this problem. Here are the steps of the correspondence:

--------------- My message ---------------

To whom it may concern in the tecnical staff.

Good morning (so to speak ...),
my name is Чертовски. I've an AVAST PREMIER 3 pcs 2 years + VPN + Avast CleanUp licenses, and I have found the following problem: in the Avast Secure Browser it's not possible to activate the BANK MODE. This occurred after the last automatic update of the basic program (Avast Premier) on 04/01/2019. I tried to reinstall both Avast Premier and Avast Secure Browser several times, without getting useful results: Avast Sacure Browser stubbornly refuses to activate the BANK MODE !!!
This program is becoming a real crap !!!
I hope to receive an answer to my problems as soon as possible, otherwise I'll be forced, after about 20 years, to change antivirus !!!
I tell you that I'm very angry, because it's not the first time that happens! If you are proud of being the best antivirus in the world you must also prove it !!!

That's had to you.

Чертовски

--------------- Answer ---------------

Hello Чертовски,
Thank you for contacting Avast Customer Care.
I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused to you by this issue.
Also, please accept our sincere apology for the delayed response.
This is a recent, but known, issue that came with the latest update of Avast Premier. Our developers are aware of it, and are currently working on it.

However, there is a workaround for this issue.
May I kindly ask you to locate the Avast tray icon.
Its located in the system tray (near the clock).
Then please right click on the "Avast icon" > "Run Bank Mode"
Your Bank Mode should be up and running after those steps are done.


I appreciate you sharing your experience about this with me, and I'll certainly take this back to the team, so we can continue to make improvements in the future.
If the issue persist, please don't hesitate to contact me again.

Best regards and have a nice day,

Miloš Aleksić
Avast Customer Care
--------------------------------------

The suggestion works perfectly (I've already tried it on several occasions), so I just have to thank Mr. Miloš Aleksić again for his availability! I hope have done a favor to the whole community affected by this problem.

Best regards,

Чертовски
-
« Last Edit: May 19, 2019, 03:10:28 PM by Чертовски Аваст! »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40780
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2019, 01:18:35 PM »
@Paolo,
If you follow the link I posted, that's exactly what I outlined. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.5.2378, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline walker_danny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2019, 01:44:30 PM »
Hi, I have done as suggested here but mine is still not working. I can open the Bank mode but as soon as I try to log in to my internet banking I get the following message:

This site can’t be reached The connection was reset.
Try:

Checking the connection
Checking the proxy and the firewall
Running Windows Network Diagnostics
ERR_CONNECTION_RESET

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5269
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2019, 07:09:26 AM »
Sounds like a networking issue rather than not being able to open Bank Mode as per the topic here.  Seems you are able to open Bank Mode.
  • Try typing in the bank url by hand.
  • Do a Ctrl+Shift+Delete and use the Advanced section of Privacy Cleaner to clear out your browser.  Check off as many categories you think need to be cleared.
  • Try step one again.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1809 Avast Internet Security version 19.5.2378 (build 19.5.4444.502)

Offline walker_danny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2019, 11:11:45 AM »
Sounds like a networking issue rather than not being able to open Bank Mode as per the topic here.  Seems you are able to open Bank Mode.
  • Try typing in the bank url by hand.
  • Do a Ctrl+Shift+Delete and use the Advanced section of Privacy Cleaner to clear out your browser.  Check off as many categories you think need to be cleared.
  • Try step one again.
Thanks. I have tried this just now and to no avail. It is very odd as I can get to the Natwest site with no problems while in Bank Mode, it is only when I click the 'logon' button that this error message comes up. I wonder is it possible that it could be something to do with having Windows Defender / Firewall on?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40780
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2019, 11:21:25 AM »
Sounds like a networking issue rather than not being able to open Bank Mode as per the topic here.  Seems you are able to open Bank Mode.
  • Try typing in the bank url by hand.
  • Do a Ctrl+Shift+Delete and use the Advanced section of Privacy Cleaner to clear out your browser.  Check off as many categories you think need to be cleared.
  • Try step one again.
Thanks. I have tried this just now and to no avail. It is very odd as I can get to the Natwest site with no problems while in Bank Mode, it is only when I click the 'logon' button that this error message comes up. I wonder is it possible that it could be something to do with having Windows Defender / Firewall on?
It sounds like a spam blocker preventing the sign-up window from appearing.
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.5.2378, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline mxbaran707

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2019, 07:25:11 PM »
Hey, the workaround does work. Right-clicking the Avast Premier (on my system) and choosing 'Run Bank Mode' works. The problem seems to stem from a subroutine once 'Secure Browser' is open. I always chose the 'Security and Privacy Center' in the 'Secure Browser' menu. When I do, all of the different modes show up, but 'Bank Mode' window is a faded color, indicating partial usefulness. A statement reading 'Program not up to date', with a link to an Avast page showing how to update Avast anti-virus. It is a true link, and not a phishing attack. So, the glitch seems to be internal to the Program Update' function in Avast Anti-Virus, all brands.

Dell Inspiron 5559 Core i5 Dual Core, Windows 10 ver. 1809, fully patched, with Avast Premier 19.1.2360. Avast Firewall is on, Windows Defender monitors the rest.
Thanks for the good work!!! ;)

Offline joefoot3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2019, 07:57:25 PM »
My free version bank mode wont work since the last update a couple of days ago no matter what I do. 

Offline Dale76

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2019, 03:29:08 AM »
I've been using Premier for a few years and up till now was happy with it. There's no reason it shouldn't be repaired and working properly by now, without having to resort to quick fixes, added clicks, and various band-aids. Would you mind explaining why tech is taking so long to fix this glitch? I believe you as a business owe us that much.

Also, that right click "fix" from the system tray loads a blank, browserless gray page that calls itself . . .

ready for it . . .

drum roll . . .

BANK MODE!

Fail. Paid to fail, I guess you'd call this whole event.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2019, 03:51:18 AM by Dale76 »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40780
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Is the Bank Mode bug fixed yet?
« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2019, 12:39:36 PM »
I've been using Premier for a few years and up till now was happy with it. There's no reason it shouldn't be repaired and working properly by now, without having to resort to quick fixes, added clicks, and various band-aids. Would you mind explaining why tech is taking so long to fix this glitch? I believe you as a business owe us that much.

Also, that right click "fix" from the system tray loads a blank, browserless gray page that calls itself . . .

ready for it . . .

drum roll . . .

BANK MODE!

Fail. Paid to fail, I guess you'd call this whole event.
That is the Bank Mode.

It is working just not directly from the Secure Browser and that is being fixed.


Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.5.2378, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq