Author Topic: Problem when performing the scanning.  (Read 849 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Andre2019

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Problem when performing the scanning.
« on: January 08, 2019, 12:52:01 AM »
I have an Internet Security installed, with the version 19.1.2360 build 19.1.4142.0

When I ask to perform an scanner it will stop at roughly the 78% mark, and then my whole computer slows down to near inactivity. That never happened before, and it was just fine the previous week.

Did anybody report a similar error?

I currently posses Windows 10 that is up to date.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 58077
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Problem when performing the scanning.
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2019, 08:21:30 AM »
- OS..? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP/Build..?)
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.4.2370.B#1 - CC 5.55 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.6 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.5.3 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Andre2019

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Problem when performing the scanning.
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2019, 10:39:19 PM »
Windows 10 Home Single Language, 64bits.

I also have Spybot S&D2 free version installed. No other security related programs are installed.

Windows is up to date, Avast is up to date.

EDIT: I uninstalled the Spybot S&D2 and performed a scan again, it still grinds to a halt at roughly 76-78%
« Last Edit: January 09, 2019, 01:19:02 AM by Andre2019 »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 58077
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Problem when performing the scanning.
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2019, 05:19:04 AM »
1. Download Avast Internet Security: https://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_internet_security_setup_offline.exe
2. Follow instructions: https://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility (Run this tool for all prior installed Avast versions..!!)
3. Reinstall Avast with the downloaded installer from point 1.
4. Reboot.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.4.2370.B#1 - CC 5.55 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.6 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.5.3 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Andre2019

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Problem when performing the scanning.
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2019, 12:32:43 AM »
I re-installed it following the instructions, but then it started to slow down to a halt once more when I reinstalled it.

For now I will wait until a new version comes around. Also can I send my problem to someone more higher up so that they an properly document it?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 58077
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Problem when performing the scanning.
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2019, 06:11:40 AM »
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.4.2370.B#1 - CC 5.55 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.6 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.5.3 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40115
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Problem when performing the scanning.
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2019, 12:46:25 PM »
Spybot has been known to cause problems. You may want to remove it and replace it
with the free version of Malwarebytes.
https://www.malwarebytes.com/mwb-download/

Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.2.2364, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline ante.mihelcic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem when performing the scanning.
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2019, 05:28:02 PM »
I have an Internet Security installed, with the version 19.1.2360 build 19.1.4142.0

When I ask to perform an scanner it will stop at roughly the 78% mark, and then my whole computer slows down to near inactivity. That never happened before, and it was just fine the previous week.

Did anybody report a similar error?

I currently posses Windows 10 that is up to date.

I have the exact same issue, except I'm on Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. When the scan reaches 78 percent, memory usage rises up to around 99-100% and you can't do anything but restart your computer or wait for about an hour till it ends.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11632
    • AVAST Software
Re: Problem when performing the scanning.
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2019, 05:32:07 PM »
Would you be able to create a dump of the relevant process (probably AvastSvc.exe?) at the moment of high memory usage (e.g. via Task Manager  - rightclick the process and choose Create Dump File), compress it and upload it, under a unique name, to ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming ?
Thanks!

Offline ante.mihelcic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem when performing the scanning.
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2019, 09:06:38 PM »
Would you be able to create a dump of the relevant process (probably AvastSvc.exe?) at the moment of high memory usage (e.g. via Task Manager  - rightclick the process and choose Create Dump File), compress it and upload it, under a unique name, to ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming ?
Thanks!

I doubt this is normal, but I went and checked the Avast log folder and I see two files that were created during the time when my memory was at 100% use and they are huge - 4,40 GB each. The type of those files is MDMP file.
Does that mean something?

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11632
    • AVAST Software
Re: Problem when performing the scanning.
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2019, 11:08:22 PM »
It means that Avast probably detected that it's using a suspiciously big amount of memory at the time and created a dump itself (there's a "watchdog" for that).
Those dump files could tell us what was going on when the big memory allocation was happening and point us to the actual cause (though that assumes that the dump was created in the middle of the operation... if there was a leak, for example, meaning some memory is allocated and then forgotten - and left forever - the dump could be created later and the problematic action long gone. But if you say the memory goes back to normal after the scan, chances are it's not a leak but rather a operation that the dump recorded).

Of course, we would need to see at least one of those dumps to say more. I would say the dump files should be well compressible - if you compress it using 7-Zip (or even ZIP), I think it would go down a several hundreds of megabytes.

Offline ante.mihelcic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem when performing the scanning.
« Reply #11 on: February 01, 2019, 07:27:32 AM »
It means that Avast probably detected that it's using a suspiciously big amount of memory at the time and created a dump itself (there's a "watchdog" for that).
Those dump files could tell us what was going on when the big memory allocation was happening and point us to the actual cause (though that assumes that the dump was created in the middle of the operation... if there was a leak, for example, meaning some memory is allocated and then forgotten - and left forever - the dump could be created later and the problematic action long gone. But if you say the memory goes back to normal after the scan, chances are it's not a leak but rather a operation that the dump recorded).

Of course, we would need to see at least one of those dumps to say more. I would say the dump files should be well compressible - if you compress it using 7-Zip (or even ZIP), I think it would go down a several hundreds of megabytes.


Okay, I'll try and upload the compressed file sometime over the weekend. Could you only give me instructions on how to upload the file to that link you posted or can I upload to some other file hosting site if it's easier?
« Last Edit: February 01, 2019, 07:36:24 AM by ante.mihelcic »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 58077
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Problem when performing the scanning.
« Reply #12 on: February 01, 2019, 07:53:51 AM »
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.4.2370.B#1 - CC 5.55 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.6 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.5.3 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11632
    • AVAST Software
Re: Problem when performing the scanning.
« Reply #13 on: February 01, 2019, 08:28:02 AM »
Sure you can upload it to some other file hosting... just let me know where to find it.

Offline ante.mihelcic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem when performing the scanning.
« Reply #14 on: February 01, 2019, 07:03:45 PM »
Sure you can upload it to some other file hosting... just let me know where to find it.

Hi, igor. I PM'd you the link to the dump file.