Author Topic: Error in Windows log  (Read 4684 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gtaillandier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • I'm a llama!
Error in Windows log
« on: January 11, 2004, 08:52:28 PM »
When I look in Windows XP ( home edition ) log, I have some errors under Antivirus :

- Error in aswChestS: chestAddSystemFiles Error 3.
- Error in aswChestS: chestOpenListLoc Error 3.

Can someone tell me where it comes from ?

Sincerely.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re:Error in Windows log
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2004, 10:57:54 PM »
Probably there were some error in the RPC service (Administrative Tool > Services) and it could be logged into the Windows Events (Administrative Tool > View events) into System events.

For correct this, the RPC and the two avast! antivirus services must be set for automatically running in your system. But, probably the already are set like this  :'(

If the error does not happen again, just forget it...  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline vojtech

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 939
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Error in Windows log
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2004, 02:22:41 PM »
Are there any errors when you view the chest content ?

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31352
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Error in Windows log
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2004, 02:34:23 PM »
Do you have the rpc update from Microsoft installed already?

Offline gtaillandier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Error in Windows log
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2004, 08:37:24 PM »
When I look at log viewer / error : I have several errors ( see attached file ).

RPC procedure call is automatically launched at Windows startup ( sorry, but I'm French ).

How can I find whether RPC update is installed ?

Offline gtaillandier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Error in Windows log
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2004, 08:40:03 PM »
Sometimes, avast tries to update database ; but it cannot end the operation because I close the connection.

Does the error message results of connection close ?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re:Error in Windows log
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2004, 09:03:12 PM »
How can I find whether RPC update is installed ?

I do not know exactly what is the update that Artras is talking about...
Anyway, if you type in a DOS window:

C:\>Qfecheck.exe

This is the Windows XP Hotfix Validation Report and you will probably receive a list of your Windows Updates installed. You can compare this with Microsoft Database. Hope this help in anyway.
The best things in life are free.

Offline gtaillandier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Error in Windows log
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2004, 09:07:58 PM »
I can't launch Qfecheck.exe

Windows Update is configured to automatically Update without asking me what to do.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re:Error in Windows log
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2004, 09:37:31 PM »
I can't launch Qfecheck.exe

Windows Update is configured to automatically Update without asking me what to do.

I suggest manual updates of Windows anyway... I want to know what is happening. About the Qfecheck.exe you can read http://www.theeldergeek.com/using_qfecheck.htm or http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=http://support.microsoft.com:80/support/kb/articles/Q282/7/84.ASP&NoWebContent=1
The best things in life are free.

Offline vojtech

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 939
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Error in Windows log
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2004, 10:07:13 AM »
I wondered if there are some errors in the log when you open the chest viewer from the avast main menu.

The error message is not related to the avast update.