Author Topic: How do I set Boot Time Scan to "Overwrite " Logs ? (( SOLVED ))  (Read 1439 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline linuxpusher

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • The Original LinuxPusher
Question: How do I set Boot Time Scan to "Overwrite " Logs ???
I do Not want to Append Logs, They get Huge taking up precious disk space and they are listed backwards in other words I have to scroll to the bottom to see the latest log.
I want to do this with all logs.

I am changing my signature to "If it's not broken don't fix it ! "
« Last Edit: March 21, 2019, 05:10:24 PM by linuxpusher »
Be Brave, Truthful, Protect the less Fortunate !
and
"If it's not broken don't fix it ! "

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11815
    • AVAST Software
Re: How do I set Boot Time Scan to "Overwrite " Logs ?
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2019, 05:01:34 PM »
I'm afraid there's no such setting. The boot-time scanner log (aswBoot.log) gets overwritten automatically, there's no option to append.
Boot-time scanner report (aswBoot.txt) does indeed append to the previous results, though normally (unless you have a lot of detected malware or errors during the scan) it should be quite small.
You are free to delete the file manually, of course.

Offline linuxpusher

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • The Original LinuxPusher
Re: How do I set Boot Time Scan to "Overwrite " Logs ?
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2019, 05:08:03 PM »
Ok
That's what I have been doing, Deleting the entire log.
Just thought it would be easier to have the log automatically save only 1 entry.
I also dialed it down so it does not check all archives, that made it huge due to errors and games being marked as Decompression Bomb due to size and compression..
Thank you.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2019, 05:12:10 PM by linuxpusher »
Be Brave, Truthful, Protect the less Fortunate !
and
"If it's not broken don't fix it ! "

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37181
Re: How do I set Boot Time Scan to "Overwrite " Logs ? (( SOLVED ))
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2019, 05:20:20 PM »
why do you run boot time scan?


Offline linuxpusher

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • The Original LinuxPusher
Re: How do I set Boot Time Scan to "Overwrite " Logs ? (( SOLVED ))
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2019, 07:21:15 PM »
why do you run boot time scan?
I would prefer not to post my reason in the open May I pm you ?
I may be a few hours getting back to you, I work soon.
Be Brave, Truthful, Protect the less Fortunate !
and
"If it's not broken don't fix it ! "

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37181
Re: How do I set Boot Time Scan to "Overwrite " Logs ? (( SOLVED ))
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2019, 08:30:41 PM »
Quote
I would prefer not to post my reason in the open May I pm you ?
Yepp you can



Offline linuxpusher

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • The Original LinuxPusher
Re: How do I set Boot Time Scan to "Overwrite " Logs ? (( SOLVED ))
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2019, 11:26:43 PM »
I also use Proton mail and Proton VPN
Be Brave, Truthful, Protect the less Fortunate !
and
"If it's not broken don't fix it ! "

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76181
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: How do I set Boot Time Scan to "Overwrite " Logs ? (( SOLVED ))
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2019, 11:47:09 AM »
Side note, Avast does delete these logs after a while (according to your settings).
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.6.7355.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 102.1 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline linuxpusher

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • The Original LinuxPusher
Re: How do I set Boot Time Scan to "Overwrite " Logs ? (( SOLVED ))
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2019, 02:02:39 PM »
Thank you, I have learned a couple things today.
Be Brave, Truthful, Protect the less Fortunate !
and
"If it's not broken don't fix it ! "

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76181
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: How do I set Boot Time Scan to "Overwrite " Logs ? (( SOLVED ))
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2019, 02:14:54 PM »
You're welcome.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.6.7355.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 102.1 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0