Author Topic: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"  (Read 6404 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wrooot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« on: April 03, 2019, 08:34:15 AM »
I haven't seen such popup before when starting my PC. First time i have noticed it yesterday. What is this and why do i need this popup every morning? It also stays for quite a long time before disappearing or you can click X.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 64704
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2019, 08:42:40 AM »
I haven't seen such popup before when starting my PC. First time i have noticed it yesterday.
Confirmed, same here.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.4.2409.B#4 [UI.520] - CC 5.65 - EEK - FF ESR 68.8 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.8.1 - ASB/ACP/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83030
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2019, 11:49:37 AM »
I have only updated my win 10 laptop to Avast free 19.3.2369, but I didn't see anything after my restart. 

That said I haven't done a proper shutdown and start as I tend to leave it in standby for some time. 

However the wording is very poor "You have been protected by Avast antivirus" if I had truly 'been protected by Avast antivirus' I would expect an Avast Alert Window not this nonsense. 

To my way of thinking, "You have been protected by Avast antivirus" means it has stopped/blocked something and I would want to know what it was.  We shouldn't have to see this kind of popup nonsense (it just hacks people off), since avast is a resident antivirus, installed to protect us. 

I would only expect to see something to tell us that avast isn't running in some way, after all what was this overseer function for, checking to ensure avast is running correctly and if not fix it or presumably notify the use if something isn't working.

I will just have to shutdown and restart later and see if I get it or not.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 64704
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2019, 12:14:28 PM »
It's rather a slide-in (like the ones we had in earlier versions).
I'll try to catch a screenshot when it shows up again...
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.4.2409.B#4 [UI.520] - CC 5.65 - EEK - FF ESR 68.8 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.8.1 - ASB/ACP/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9315
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2019, 12:56:16 PM »
I got a popup. Once. On one out of 3 devices. It confuses me more than it helps at this point...
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83030
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2019, 04:14:35 PM »
It's rather a slide-in (like the ones we had in earlier versions).
I'll try to catch a screenshot when it shows up again...

Like a Toaster Popup ?

If so shouldn't that conform to the toaster style  'information popup'' notice, if these settings haven't disappeared of vanished into the geek:area.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 64704
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2019, 04:20:40 PM »
It's rather a slide-in (like the ones we had in earlier versions).
I'll try to catch a screenshot when it shows up again...
Like a Toaster Popup ?
Yep.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.4.2409.B#4 [UI.520] - CC 5.65 - EEK - FF ESR 68.8 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.8.1 - ASB/ACP/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5412
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2019, 04:46:29 PM »
It's rather a slide-in (like the ones we had in earlier versions).
I'll try to catch a screenshot when it shows up again...
Like a Toaster Popup ?
Yep.
Yes, Dave it is that exactly.  Remains for about 20 seconds or so and then slides back down.  First time I saw it here too, after a restart.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.559) UI version 1.0.460.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6367
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2019, 05:15:59 PM »
So far nothing here on 2 systems.
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.4.2409beta /Secureline v.5.5.522/VS 5.75(WC)/ASB v.81b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.4.2409beta/ASB v.81b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield vpn 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION all OS

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5412
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2019, 05:39:30 PM »
(I restarted while connected to the Internet, seemed to make a difference)
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.559) UI version 1.0.460.

Offline chris..

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2168
Re: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2019, 06:55:20 PM »
also when I leave sleep mode (but not always) for 2 days on my 3 pcs (W10, W7, W7)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83030
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« Reply #11 on: April 03, 2019, 07:13:33 PM »
It's rather a slide-in (like the ones we had in earlier versions).
I'll try to catch a screenshot when it shows up again...
Like a Toaster Popup ?
Yep.
Yes, Dave it is that exactly.  Remains for about 20 seconds or so and then slides back down.  First time I saw it here too, after a restart.

Check if the settings are still in place for changing the duration, remember the 0 value = no limit.  Also it would be a case of which category does/would this come under information (INFO), etc. if avast are considering this as promotion (which would be wrong) we're stuffed as they didn't have a category.

Ah, I just opened up my laptop to check and see where the settings for Popups are (and I got the toaster popup, but not for very long). I couldn't find them, they were in the old Settings, General area and no popups area exists in 19.32369 UI (well not on mine). 

I had a look in the geek:area (and what a dumping ground that is becoming), its a mess, one big long list, hard to find anything and scrolling forever and nothing related to Popups.  I had to go into the Troubleshooting section, General > Open Old Settings and here in General > Popups are the various categories, my INFO section is set for 3 seconds (see attached image for my settings). This is why it didn't get a screen capture, id didn't stay up long enough for me to get a screen capture.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline YeOldeBowler

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« Reply #12 on: April 03, 2019, 11:54:03 PM »
I am getting this also and it doesn't 'slide away'.Need to refresh the desktop or close it.
Example attached...
Avast Free 19.5.2378 (build 19.5.4444.495), Windows 7 64 bit

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83030
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2019, 12:01:59 AM »
I am getting this also and it doesn't 'slide away'.Need to refresh the desktop or close it.
Example attached...

See if you can adjust the timings as I have shown in my post above yours. 

Mine was only up for 3 seconds too quick for me to capture a screenshot. That was on my win10 laptop and has a different screen capture software, than this winXP system just a couple of keystrokes, but I only have avast! free 18.5.2342 on the XP system, so I don't get the toaster popup.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline YeOldeBowler

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Shows popup "You have been protected by Avast antivirus"
« Reply #14 on: April 04, 2019, 12:06:33 AM »
Attached are my popup settings - this 'should' only be displayed for 1 second but, as I stated, it just stays there. Other popups disappear as they should.
Avast Free 19.5.2378 (build 19.5.4444.495), Windows 7 64 bit