Author Topic: Location shows as London but other programs think I am in Chechia?  (Read 2031 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline paddy_bowen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Sometimes when I have VPN on and it shows as location London, other programs (notably gmail) think I am in Chechia and so trigger the unusual login process. I have noticed this is when the IP address beneath the location starts with 77. instead of the usual 5.
If I log out and back in, sometimes it reverts to a proper London location, sometimes it keeps going back to the Chechia ghost location.
Is this a bug or is there something else I can do to fix it?

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5416
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Location shows as London but other programs think I am in Chechia?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2019, 07:56:45 AM »
What other programs list you as in Chechia?  If you could list them....
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.8.2432 (build 20.8.5684.604) UI version 1.0.575.

Offline paddy_bowen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Location shows as London but other programs think I am in Chechia?
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2019, 08:10:39 AM »
The only one I have become aware of is google, which affects gmail and youtube, because these go into the unusual login procedure whenever the IP address in VPN begins with a 77. They claim I am trying to log in from Czechia...
It is possible other sites are making the same assumption, but because they do not have the unusual login security concern, they are not flagging it up. Hotmail seems happy - they are the only other ones I would expect to have a concern. Banking apps seem OK. Various discussion forums do not seem to test for location. Ebay is happy that I am in the UK.
So Google really.

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5416
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Location shows as London but other programs think I am in Chechia?
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2019, 04:37:51 PM »
It's the Google Geo-Location feature....
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.8.2432 (build 20.8.5684.604) UI version 1.0.575.

Offline paddy_bowen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Location shows as London but other programs think I am in Chechia?
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2019, 09:39:55 PM »
So - does that mean anything can be done about it?
At the moment I have to keep switching VPN on and off until it picks an IP address that will work.

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5416
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Location shows as London but other programs think I am in Chechia?
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2019, 04:41:30 AM »
As Google is the culprit, not much Avast can do.  Google needs to refine their algorithm some more, not Avast....
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.8.2432 (build 20.8.5684.604) UI version 1.0.575.

Offline paddy_bowen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Location shows as London but other programs think I am in Chechia?
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2019, 09:06:26 PM »
Seems it is not just Google thta mis-identifies the location. If I go to Amazon whilst on the 77. IP address it keeps asking me if I want to change my destination country for postage. It is not an issue because I can continue to use without changing, but clearly Amazon is spotting that the IP is not in London.