Author Topic: Error loading netagent after install  (Read 21626 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DroppinPackets

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Error loading netagent after install
« on: October 11, 2003, 04:19:50 AM »
Greetings to all.

First of all, great programs, well done!

After instalation and setup, recieving error at startup that the netagent service failed to start, error from event viewer as follows

The avast! NetAgent service terminated with the following error:
%%2147422208

However it starts manually after login with no problems

Also, I had problems using the script blocker with IE.  It would simply lock IE and I had to stop it via task manager.

Uninstalled, and reinstalled to no avail.  Using DEMO Lisc

On the second install avast uses a newly created admin account made for it.

Win2k

If you need any more specific details I am happy to give.
Cheers

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Error loading netagent after install
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2003, 12:18:19 PM »
Hey,

there were two problems described in your post:

Quote
The avast! NetAgent service terminated with the following error:
%%2147422208


This incredible error code translates to ERROR_CANNOT_OPEN_ENGINE_DATA_FILE which makes much more sense. The Agent was appearently unable to open the config file. To find out more, please check the Error category in avast log viewer (accessible e.g. by right-clicking the avast tray icon).

Anyway, lack of the NetAgent service should not, in any way, influence the virus scannning capabilities. The agent is just reponsible for remote administration (the ADNM) which isn't available yet.

Quote
Also, I had problems using the script blocker with IE.  It would simply lock IE and I had to stop it via task manager.

What makes you think it was the Script Blocker? Did it help to disable it?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline DroppinPackets

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re:Error loading netagent after install
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2003, 05:21:57 PM »
well, first of all, i cannot seem to quote??? I am doing it by cut and paste!

so
To find out more, please check the Error category in avast log viewer (accessible e.g. by right-clicking the avast tray icon).

when I do this it is blank, would you like me to put logging to debug mode????

As for the IE script blocker

What makes you think it was the Script Blocker? Did it help to disable it?

Thanks
Vlk

Because it works, I am using proximotron as a proxy filter

Cheers

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Error loading netagent after install
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2003, 05:25:35 PM »
Hmm, empty? Pity... and the Event viewer doesn't show up anything, too? (the new Antivirus category).

To quote, put [ quote ] and [ / quote ] (wihtout the spaces which I had to embed to prevent making the "and" word a quote :)) around the text.

I didn't quite understand what you mean by the ScriptBlocker -- "because it works" - what works?

Thanks
« Last Edit: October 11, 2003, 05:26:23 PM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline DroppinPackets

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re:Error loading netagent after install
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2003, 05:32:39 PM »
IE works when script blocker is disabled
Cheers

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Error loading netagent after install
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2003, 05:38:15 PM »
And doesnt work at all when it's enabled? Or is it just that sometimes it hangs or something?

Anyway, you have explicitly turned on the Script Blocker in the Server Deployment Wiz?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline DroppinPackets

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re:Error loading netagent after install
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2003, 05:38:41 PM »
ahhhhh, now for some reason I see the quote button......., anyways, the program works fine without probs(havn't tried eicar shit yet...)

As for the log, would it matter if one was logged in as a non admin user???
Cheers

Offline DroppinPackets

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re:Error loading netagent after install
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2003, 05:40:50 PM »
And doesnt work at all when it's enabled? Or is it just that sometimes it hangs or something?

Anyway, you have explicitly turned on the Script Blocker in the Server Deployment Wiz?

No I found that IE would "freeze" when activated????

Cheers

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Error loading netagent after install
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2003, 05:45:24 PM »
Quote
As for the log, would it matter if one was logged in as a non admin user???

No, that should not matter.

Quote
No I found that IE would "freeze" when activated????

Immediately? Before showing the home page? :o
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline DroppinPackets

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re:Error loading netagent after install
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2003, 05:51:23 PM »

Immediately? Before showing the home page? :o
Quote

Yes, IE seems to freeze before loading anything, but as I said, I use Prox and disabling that feature returns IE to normal operation.

Note: IE is only allowed access to to 127.0.0.1 port 8080 on my system
Cheers

Offline DroppinPackets

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re:Error loading netagent after install
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2003, 05:53:16 PM »
On a side issue, what does netagent do, if it is not important???? :)
Cheers

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Error loading netagent after install
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2003, 12:36:47 AM »
It's the bit that provides the plumbing needed by the the avast! Distributed Network Manager (ADNM) - basically an administrative console that will let you control/monitor all avast's throughout the network.

This module will be available later in Q4.

Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.