Author Topic: Free Avast for Home Users  (Read 3187 times)

bubbles1057

Free Avast for Home Users
« on: August 08, 2006, 12:46:07 AM »
Hi All,  :D

I am new to this and have a few questions.

How do I know if my settings are correct?   I want full protection from viruses and I want it so that computer is always checking for viruses when computer is on and idle.

How do I check for updates and how do I do scans?   This is a little confusing to me.   
I had Norton Anti-Virus before and it seems easier.    Thanks!

Capie

Re: Free Avast for Home Users
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2006, 01:00:14 AM »
Bubbles,

The Free AVAST version cannot scan your PC unattended on a scheduled basis. You can do it manually though! It scan your system upon installation and each and every file entering and leaving your system thereafter ...

I had Norton too ... Slowed down my system and after using this ... Safe enough for me ... 

;D

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2006, 01:23:34 AM »
How do I check for updates and how do I do scans?
Go to the Program Settings (right click the 'a' blue icon) and choose the two Update tabs of settings. Check for automatic updates  ;)
To scan, just choose the area (folder, all disk...) on the skin, check or not for archive scanning and click the 'play' buttom.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2006, 01:30:02 AM »
Like any move to a new program there is a steep learning curve from what you are used to (it's just different), browsing the avast help file will help, as will the sticky topics at the top of each of the forums. They provide a wealth of information to help you get the best from avast.