Author Topic: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)  (Read 19333 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46295
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #15 on: September 25, 2019, 08:37:41 PM »
Check the devs channel Bob
RE: Michaela
"It is certainly not a workaround we would oficially recommend our users!"
I'm the one who reported this to the developers. :) Thanks
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7083
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #16 on: September 25, 2019, 08:40:51 PM »
Check the devs channel Bob
RE: Michaela
"It is certainly not a workaround we would oficially recommend our users!"
I'm the one who reported this to the developers. :) Thanks

I realize that Bob. Wondered why you asked when the reply was to your concern. :)
???HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46295
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #17 on: September 25, 2019, 08:58:17 PM »
Check the devs channel Bob
RE: Michaela
"It is certainly not a workaround we would oficially recommend our users!"
I'm the one who reported this to the developers. :) Thanks

I realize that Bob. Wondered why you asked when the reply was to your concern. :)
I don't post what was quoted.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline chris..

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2546
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #18 on: September 26, 2019, 12:47:12 PM »
Do you really think avast would approve a risky solution for their customers?

My understanding is It's not officially approved by Avast, it was suggested by Power users in another forum and worked for most of them


A fix has been found. Will be distributed in an update very soon
I still find it strange and worrying to see a member of the avast team suggesting a risky workaround solution and especially to maintain it here despite the cautionary advice of other developer team members  :-\

It is especially important to know where the risk is when the avast UI indicates that you are protected and that you enter the (special) window of the bank mode (extensions disabled, impossible to take a screenshot)
nb:The official fix was scheduled for yesterday  :-\
« Last Edit: September 26, 2019, 08:10:44 PM by chris.. »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46295
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #19 on: September 26, 2019, 02:16:00 PM »
@Chris,
If you quote me, use the total quote. Not excerpts or your description as to what and where I posted something.
I currently also don't see a release of a fix on the Bank Mode problem.

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Misha Zekovova

  • Quality Assurance Engineer
  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 57
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #20 on: September 26, 2019, 02:53:26 PM »
Hello everyone,
the fix for Bank Mode issue is live and being distributed to the 19.8. AV. You can restart your computer once or twice, then you should see updated AV version in Settings. Fix version is build 539.
Thank you for your patience and sorry for the inconvenience.



Browser Team

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46295
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #21 on: September 26, 2019, 03:20:46 PM »
Thank you Misa for the update.
Bank Mode is back in action. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline chris..

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2546
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #22 on: September 26, 2019, 08:19:39 PM »
@Chris,
If you quote me, use the total quote. Not excerpts or your description as to what and where I posted something.
I currently also don't see a release of a fix on the Bank Mode problem.
It was not really a quote but a repetition of a sentence to express my concern to me too, but since when we agree with you, you still criticize, I just edited my post with my own words, my own thoughts. ;) ;D

the main thing is that the official fix came out today  :)
More of that, ASB offers me the possibility (notifying) to open the banking mode when I consult my bank's website ;)
« Last Edit: September 26, 2019, 09:24:09 PM by chris.. »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46295
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #23 on: September 26, 2019, 10:19:25 PM »
@Chris,
If you quote me, use the total quote. Not excerpts or your description as to what and where I posted something.
I currently also don't see a release of a fix on the Bank Mode problem.
It was not really a quote but a repetition of a sentence to express my concern to me too, but since when we agree with you, you still criticize, I just edited my post with my own words, my own thoughts. ;) ;D

the main thing is that the official fix came out today  :)
More of that, ASB offers me the possibility (notifying) to open the banking mode when I consult my bank's website ;)
You had stated that you have your bank set to auto start in Bank Mode. That's different from the current problem which has already been acknowledged by Avast.
Hope it gets fixed soon.


Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline chris..

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2546
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #24 on: September 27, 2019, 07:55:04 AM »
@Chris,
If you quote me, use the total quote. Not excerpts or your description as to what and where I posted something.
I currently also don't see a release of a fix on the Bank Mode problem.
It was not really a quote but a repetition of a sentence to express my concern to me too, but since when we agree with you, you still criticize, I just edited my post with my own words, my own thoughts. ;) ;D

the main thing is that the official fix came out today  :)
More of that, ASB offers me the possibility (notifying) to open the banking mode when I consult my bank's website ;)
You had stated that you have your bank set to auto start in Bank Mode. That's different from the current problem which has already been acknowledged by Avast.
Hope it gets fixed soon.
No, I'm not anymore. Just the checkbox "Show Bank Mode notification prompt on banking websites" enabled , and I stay on ASB , but I'am notified to open the bank mode , you seem to doubt it.
I voluntarily deleted the auto start to see if I had the problem you're having, and I don't have it, that's all (see my screen shoot)
However, as I said earlier, not all banks are recognized by avast and some do not give notification, I think that's what avast has to work on.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2019, 07:59:12 AM by chris.. »

Offline Leafs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #25 on: September 27, 2019, 10:17:04 AM »
Hello and thanks all for the info.

Misa indicated above that the fix was distributed with 19.8.4793.539. However, I already have that version of the application and after multiple reboots (3 times) and clicking on the "Check for Updates" (3 times) the Bank Mode still isn't working for me. Still displays a grey screen.

Am I missing something? Do I need to uninstall and reinstall?

Currently running the free version for home use.
ver. 19.8.2393 - build 19.8.4793.539 (Release date September 19, 2019 5:19 AM)
-=========
Oops - Forgot to mention above that I am also running the free 60 day trial of Avast Internet Security, Not sure if it has an impact.
==========
Double Oops!! Rebooted again and checked for program updates (4th time) and got a prompt to upgrade/migrate to Premium. Did that, rebooted again and problem solved. Not sure why the prompt came up just a few moments ago. Maybe being a Canuck I might "be a bit slow on the uptake, eh!!"

I shut down and check for updates religiously. Been using Avast for years. Love the product. I have questions about the paid version but this isn't the correct board. Will ask over there. Thanks again to everyone.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2019, 11:04:49 AM by Leafs »

Offline fvmb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Being a teacher implies that we stay learning!
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #26 on: September 27, 2019, 11:13:17 AM »
Hi,

Yesterday bank mode has been fixed and i tested and it worked very well as it should, but i tried normally bank mode today and it´s not working. I restarted and tried again and no joy.
Windows has made an update today, maybe this brought some issue, the update was (KB4517211). :(

Can you tell me something ?

Can someone report this issue to Avast Team please, I appreciate it :)

Best Regards,

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7083
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #27 on: September 27, 2019, 05:15:01 PM »
Hi,

Yesterday bank mode has been fixed and i tested and it worked very well as it should, but i tried normally bank mode today and it´s not working. I restarted and tried again and no joy.
Windows has made an update today, maybe this brought some issue, the update was (KB4517211). :(

Can you tell me something ?

Can someone report this issue to Avast Team please, I appreciate it :)

Best Regards,

The latest MS KB4517211 shouldn't have any impact on your issue as I also was offered and installed that 'optional' update and no problem here with Bank Mode after the update.
???HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline chris..

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2546
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #28 on: September 28, 2019, 05:34:11 PM »
@Chris,
If you quote me, use the total quote. Not excerpts or your description as to what and where I posted something.
I currently also don't see a release of a fix on the Bank Mode problem.
It was not really a quote but a repetition of a sentence to express my concern to me too, but since when we agree with you, you still criticize, I just edited my post with my own words, my own thoughts. ;) ;D

the main thing is that the official fix came out today  :)
More of that, ASB offers me the possibility (notifying) to open the banking mode when I consult my bank's website ;)
You had stated that you have your bank set to auto start in Bank Mode. That's different from the current problem which has already been acknowledged by Avast.
Hope it gets fixed soon.
No, I'm not anymore. Just the checkbox "Show Bank Mode notification prompt on banking websites" enabled , and I stay on ASB , but I'am notified to open the bank mode , you seem to doubt it.
I voluntarily deleted the auto start to see if I had the problem you're having, and I don't have it, that's all (see my screen shoot)
However, as I said earlier, not all banks are recognized by avast and some do not give notification, I think that's what avast has to work on.
We also had to be sure that we have never checked the box "no longer display on this website", as right in the following capture.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2019, 05:36:24 PM by chris.. »

Offline dellsttn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast Banking mode is not working (again)
« Reply #29 on: October 26, 2019, 03:56:15 PM »
My bank mode freezes up. first the ability to type anything stops, and then the entire screen background turns grey. I have to restart my computer to do anything else. I have uninstalled and reinstalled several times. Has there been any resolution to this problem?