Author Topic: Avast Background Process starts but get no interface  (Read 3397 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46312
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast Background Process starts but get no interface
« Reply #15 on: June 03, 2019, 10:18:43 PM »
Next step is a clean install.

Clean Install of Avast:
https://goo.gl/4Ptzkf
If you need additional help with the Clean Install, watch this:
https://youtu.be/p-h3myRD51A
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline knightstalker83

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Avast Background Process starts but get no interface
« Reply #16 on: June 03, 2019, 10:32:36 PM »
Unfortunately I have done this several times including a full wipe of the PC and a clean install of Windows 10 Pro 64bit.

The latest offline version of Avast free antivirus was used and was installed before any other program was installed.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46312
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast Background Process starts but get no interface
« Reply #17 on: June 03, 2019, 10:37:23 PM »
Hopefully Avast can give you an answer based on your support file submission.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline knightstalker83

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Avast Background Process starts but get no interface
« Reply #18 on: June 03, 2019, 10:49:26 PM »
Hopefully and thank you for your suggestion.

Offline kwiq

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 256
Re: Avast Background Process starts but get no interface
« Reply #19 on: June 04, 2019, 08:19:53 AM »
Hi knightstalker83,
 I found error 0xc015004 which might point to broken redists in system event log. 
0xc015004 - STATUS_SXS_ASSEMBLY_NOT_FOUND: The referenced assembly is not installed on your system. There are no errors or warnings in AvasUI.log.

Can you make a procmon log and upload it to avast ftp server ?
1) download procmon (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/downloads/procmon)
2) Run it as admin
3) Open Avast UI and induce the issue
4) Save the procmon log Menu -> File -> Save ... -> All event , Native Process Monitor Format
5) Zip the log file as knightstalker83_6_2019.zip and upload it to avast ftp : ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming  (https://support.avast.com/en-eu/article/FTP-file-upload)
Thank you for report !

Offline avant-guvnor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Avast Background Process starts but get no interface
« Reply #20 on: July 27, 2019, 06:47:01 PM »
The only thing i can find is this error:

"Code integrity determined that the image hash of a file is not valid.  The file could be corrupt due to unauthorized modification or the invalid hash could indicate a potential disk device error.

File Name:   \Device\HarddiskVolume4\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\wsc_proxy.exe"

Hard Disk Volume 4 is my 3rd visible partition which is 2 1TB drives in a raid 0. Drivers are fully up to date and had no issue with Avast opening until i tried to check Avast today.

Because of the above event, I scanned all drives using chkdsk /f /r with no error on drives.

Event ID was 5038.

I wasn't sure whether to create a new thread or post here, but as the reported error is here …

I have just installed Avast Free version 19.6.2383 using the online installer on 2 different PCs, OS are Windows 10 Pro 64-bit version 1903 (build 18362.239).

On restart, both PCs log 2 instances of the above event in the Windows Security Log:



I do not have the gui issues reported by the OP, but can confirm that a repair/clean install does not fix this Audit Failure issue.

I have also performed DISM and SFC checks on both systems, with no reported issues.

Please can anyone help/advise? TIA
« Last Edit: July 27, 2019, 06:51:28 PM by avant-guvnor »

Offline maverick7r

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast Background Process starts but get no interface
« Reply #21 on: August 01, 2019, 11:28:43 PM »
I'm having all the same issues as the OP, have completed all the same steps as the OP and pretty much read everything there is to read so far on this issue.  The one thing that we seem to have in common, (along with the OP in this thread "https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=224217.0") is the fact that we are all running with AMD RAID drivers.  Being a PC tech I run Avast Free on A LOT of different machines and my new computer that is running an AMD Ryzon 7 on an MSI B450 Gaming PRO Carbon AC Motherboard.  On this my new computer, (the only one having this issue) I have the hard drives setup and running in a RAID configuration, a Single SSD running the OS and two 2TB Drives in a RAID 1, (Mirror) Array.

The machine I had before this one was running a RAID setup but it was an Intel RAID with Intel drivers... it just seems to be AMD RAID driver that are causing this issue.

And advice on how to get the Avast UI to open while using the AMD RAID drives would be a great help.  If nothing I guess I will have to move to a different Anti-virus. :(