Author Topic: Avast 19.5  (Read 8680 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47563
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #15 on: May 21, 2019, 01:30:45 PM »
You could try an Avast Repair.  This used to resolve what I call and out of sync condition. e.g. where what is reported differs from the physical state.

Repair did not change status of message.I think they tried to modify since new UI introduced which was not a good idea.I decided to update now.
Just do the update to the latest version. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline jefferson sant

  • Starting Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 6717
  • volunteer
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #16 on: May 21, 2019, 01:54:19 PM »
Just do the update to the latest version. :)

Update works without problems.I do not needed to restart 2 times with last time. :)
lack of space in the text in smart scanning (virus scan) in other languages.


Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47563
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #17 on: May 21, 2019, 02:49:42 PM »
Just do the update to the latest version. :)

Update works without problems.I do not needed to restart 2 times with last time. :)
lack of space in the text in smart scanning (virus scan) in other languages.
Why is your smart scan still showing the old interface?

https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=93544.msg1506370#msg1506370

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline reddyshyam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #18 on: May 21, 2019, 05:08:31 PM »
Just do the update to the latest version. :)

Update works without problems.I do not needed to restart 2 times with last time. :)
lack of space in the text in smart scanning (virus scan) in other languages.
Why is your smart scan still showing the old interface?

https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=93544.msg1506370#msg1506370

Hi Bob,

Even I have pointed out few posts above that my interface is old as well. Using Avast free antivirus 19.5 latest. Do not know if this is still going to be geographical based switch to new UI.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7129
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #19 on: May 21, 2019, 05:21:46 PM »
It appears not all v 19.5 have the new UI (no Circle)
Both my installations, stable and beta 19.5 are not the same UI.
Stable version 19.5 has the old Circle scanning in my installation while the beta version 19.5 does not.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2019, 05:24:51 PM by schmidthouse »
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H2 64Bit/250GB SSD/16GB Ram/ADU v.22.3b/VS/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 21H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/ADU v.22.3b/VS/SANDBOXIE/HotSpot Shield
 Avast Mobile Security (Android)
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47563
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #20 on: May 21, 2019, 09:01:39 PM »
It appears not all v 19.5 have the new UI (no Circle)
Both my installations, stable and beta 19.5 are not the same UI.
Stable version 19.5 has the old Circle scanning in my installation while the beta version 19.5 does not.
Please note that I'm running the stable version.

My video of the Smart Scan was produced from this stable version.
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=93544.msg1506370#msg1506370

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7129
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #21 on: May 21, 2019, 09:19:40 PM »
Yup, me too Bob. Only as posted my 19.5 has the Circle "still" :)
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H2 64Bit/250GB SSD/16GB Ram/ADU v.22.3b/VS/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 21H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/ADU v.22.3b/VS/SANDBOXIE/HotSpot Shield
 Avast Mobile Security (Android)
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47563
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #22 on: May 21, 2019, 09:25:05 PM »
Something Avast needs to clarify. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87079
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #23 on: May 21, 2019, 09:25:11 PM »
Its at times like this that my pet hate comes to the fore.

Having a beta build released to the regular program stream with the same version and build numbers confuses the hell out of things.  Especially when things go wrong.

Beta Release posted 16 May 2019: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=227253.0
New Release posted 21 May 2019: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=227342.0

How the hell is anyone meant to tell the difference.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7129
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #24 on: May 21, 2019, 09:28:59 PM »
My Question 'is Avast rolling the new UI out gradually' or is this a bug/error in some of the installations?
Interesting, only Avast as said can clear up this question

Edit: I agree with David's points
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H2 64Bit/250GB SSD/16GB Ram/ADU v.22.3b/VS/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 21H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/ADU v.22.3b/VS/SANDBOXIE/HotSpot Shield
 Avast Mobile Security (Android)
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47563
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #25 on: May 21, 2019, 09:32:32 PM »
Its at times like this that my pet hate comes to the fore.

Having a beta build released to the regular program stream with the same version and build numbers confuses the hell out of things.  Especially when things go wrong.

Beta Release posted 16 May 2019: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=227253.0
New Release posted 21 May 2019: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=227342.0

How the hell is anyone meant to tell the difference.
If you're updating from within a stable version, you're going to remain on the stable version.
Likewise with beta version.
If you're on beta, the only way to get back to the stable version is to do a clean install.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87079
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #26 on: May 21, 2019, 09:44:57 PM »
Its at times like this that my pet hate comes to the fore.

Having a beta build released to the regular program stream with the same version and build numbers confuses the hell out of things.  Especially when things go wrong.

Beta Release posted 16 May 2019: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=227253.0
New Release posted 21 May 2019: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=227342.0

How the hell is anyone meant to tell the difference.
If you're updating from within a stable version, you're going to remain on the stable version.
Likewise with beta version.
If you're on beta, the only way to get back to the stable version is to do a clean install.

Yes but either way it is confusing as hell.  Beta users remain on the beta channel but when it is released to a regular version to all intents and purposes you are using the regular version. 

When a new beta session is running you would be offered the beta.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47563
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #27 on: May 21, 2019, 09:55:44 PM »
Correct. There is always going to be a time after a stable release and before the next beta release
where everyone is running the same version. The UI however is always marked as Beta if that's what your're running.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87079
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #28 on: May 21, 2019, 11:39:54 PM »
Correct. There is always going to be a time after a stable release and before the next beta release
where everyone is running the same version. The UI however is always marked as Beta if that's what your're running.

I've stopped running the beta builds now for few reasons:
1.  Can't go any further than 18.5 on my XP system no further XP/Vista support.  So no more betas to test.
2.  I have found that beta builds aren't great, many times issues are found that had been resolved in earlier program/beta builds.
3.  I don't like the idea of using my win10 laptop as a test-bed.

Previously Avast beta builds were pretty much bulletproof, now I see more bullet holes. 

I don't know if this rolling monthly beta/program updates is a good idea, a period of stability would be nice.  Perhaps quarterly updates, which would give longer for QA/Alpha and finally Beta testing before release.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline jefferson sant

  • Starting Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 6717
  • volunteer
Re: Avast 19.5
« Reply #29 on: May 22, 2019, 01:54:46 AM »
Why is your smart scan still showing the old interface?

Since I had started that moment the interface was old.I see it has changed now that I hung up and turned the computer back on.The circle no longer show.It's all OK  :)