Author Topic: DNS Probe Error Message  (Read 1069 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ken.bradshaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
DNS Probe Error Message
« on: May 23, 2019, 01:06:12 AM »
Avast,  I've been seeing on startup or restart it can take 3-5 min's before my computer allows me access to the Internet.
All browsers I have tested showed same issue.  I see this was reported as an issue the later part of 2018 and the temp fixed by others was to turning off "Web Shield" and problem goes away. This disable of Web Shield worked for me. BTW, at the same time I opened, Command Prompt window and started a continuous ping to 8.8.8.8 and the pings respond even though the web page fails for up to 5 min's after the start/restart.
Microsoft Windows - Ver 10.0.17763.504
Avast Info:  Avast AV Free
Pro Ver:  19.5.2378 Build 19.5.4444.492
Vir Def:  190522-4
# of Def:  7,164,831
UI Ver:  1.0.370

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 60708
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: DNS Probe Error Message
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2019, 07:44:09 AM »
Follow instructions: https://support.avast.com/article/33/ and post your File-ID here afterwards.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 19.8.2393.BUC - CC 5.61 - EEK - Firefox ESR 60.9 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 68.1 [EM] - ABS/ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline ken.bradshaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DNS Probe Error Message
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2019, 02:44:15 AM »
Sorry took so long here's a few results....  Web Shield on, Web Shield off

1st "File ID: OSABQ"  was with "Web Shield" Enabled and the computer restarted.
Right before the report was finished and the file uploaded the Internet started working.

Now before the next restart, I disabled "Web Shield" and then I restarted, as soon as desktop comes up I started the report generator

2nd "File ID: SIPFJ"  was with "Web Shield" "Disabled" and then computer restarted.
Internet works right after windows starts no delays getting browser to work at all

Offline ken.bradshaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DNS Probe Error Message
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2019, 08:30:59 PM »
Any thoughts about the error logs provided?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 60708
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: DNS Probe Error Message
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2019, 05:39:21 AM »
Hi, I forwarded it to the devs.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 19.8.2393.BUC - CC 5.61 - EEK - Firefox ESR 60.9 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 68.1 [EM] - ABS/ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline ken.bradshaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DNS Probe Error Message
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2019, 01:14:47 AM »
Still no status?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 60708
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: DNS Probe Error Message
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2019, 04:56:19 AM »
You could try the latest beta: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=15
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 19.8.2393.BUC - CC 5.61 - EEK - Firefox ESR 60.9 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 68.1 [EM] - ABS/ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0