Author Topic: Can't add a new search engine  (Read 1092 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline debora.jarosch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Can't add a new search engine
« on: May 07, 2019, 03:44:23 PM »
Hi,

I've a problem and I hope you can help.
I want to use the search engine Ecosia als a default in the adress bar. So I tried to add it to the list of available search engines. But it doesn't show up in the options menue when I get back to pick another default engine for the adresse bar. When I close the browser and open it again, the added search engine is gone, was not saved obviously.

I already tried this in admin-mode, but no difference.

What can I do to get this fixed?

Thanks!

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 61612
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Can't add a new search engine
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2019, 03:49:42 PM »
Hi Debora, we already answered your question in the German forum section.
-> https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=226824.msg1504463#msg1504463
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 19.9.2394.B1 - CC 5.63 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.2 [NS/AOS/uBO] - Thunderbird 68.2.2 [EM] - ACP/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6196
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Can't add a new search engine
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2019, 08:30:26 PM »
I'd be interested in the Resolution/information in English. :)
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premier 19.8.2393 /VS 5.02(WC)/ASB/Mbam 4/Secureline b. 5.5/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premier BETA 19.9.2394 /VS 5.02(WC)/ASB beta/Secureline b 5.5/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/OSA/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION ALL>

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41904
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Can't add a new search engine
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2019, 01:07:21 AM »
I'd be interested in the Resolution/information in English. :)
Follow the link Asyn posted and use a translator to translate it to English.
Simply go to this extension: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/ecosia-the-search-engine/eedlgdlajadkbbjoobobefphmfkcchfk

Once you select Add extension and override the Secure Browser warning, it will change your default search engine to theirs.
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6196
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Can't add a new search engine
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2019, 04:57:01 AM »
Thanks for that information Bob. :)
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premier 19.8.2393 /VS 5.02(WC)/ASB/Mbam 4/Secureline b. 5.5/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premier BETA 19.9.2394 /VS 5.02(WC)/ASB beta/Secureline b 5.5/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/OSA/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION ALL>

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41904
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Can't add a new search engine
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2019, 01:51:02 PM »
Thanks for that information Bob. :)
You're welcome. Thank Asyn he did the hard work. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6196
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Can't add a new search engine
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2019, 04:07:03 PM »
Thanks for that information Bob. :)
You're welcome. Thank Asyn he did the hard work. :)

Yes
I mean thanks for posting the info here.
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premier 19.8.2393 /VS 5.02(WC)/ASB/Mbam 4/Secureline b. 5.5/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premier BETA 19.9.2394 /VS 5.02(WC)/ASB beta/Secureline b 5.5/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/OSA/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION ALL>

Offline debora.jarosch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can't add a new search engine
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2019, 08:49:17 AM »


I thank you very much for the link you posted here, bob and asyn!
Would have wished for that link in the german section..... therefore it was a good thing I asked again here in the english section! :)
Now it finally works!
« Last Edit: May 25, 2019, 08:53:21 AM by debora.jarosch »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41904
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Can't add a new search engine
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2019, 03:06:26 PM »
Good to know. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 61612
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Can't add a new search engine
« Reply #9 on: May 26, 2019, 07:08:15 AM »
I thank you very much for the link you posted here, bob and asyn!
You're welcome.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 19.9.2394.B1 - CC 5.63 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.2 [NS/AOS/uBO] - Thunderbird 68.2.2 [EM] - ACP/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0