Author Topic: Please help! Does this look harmful?  (Read 2564 times)

Offline info1782

Please help! Does this look harmful?
« on: May 22, 2019, 06:10:08 PM »
I just ran a scan on my mac and came back with, "unable to scan: 34" It appears these are all mac-related, but I'm no expert.

Can you take a look at what it can't scan, and let me know if everything looks legit? I recently had a scare with an infected site downloading a fake adobe player to my computer and trying to force open the application. I then found a plug-in running a day or two later, and now I'm worried my computer is completely infected.

How would I know if something was embedded into these 34 files?

https://pasteboard.co/IfTLh59.png
https://pasteboard.co/IfTLBVI.png
« Last Edit: May 22, 2019, 06:16:35 PM by info1782 »

Offline BWhit

• Avast team
Re: Please help! Does this look harmful?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2019, 10:55:40 AM »
Hi info1782,

The "archive is corrupted" error simply means that the scan could not unpack the archive file, not that the file is corrupted. This most often happens when a proprietary file compression system is being used.

The "The file is a decompression bomb" error does not usually mean that the file actually is a decompression bomb (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zip_bomb). Typically, this error occurs with heavily compressed files as they can bear some resemblance to a decompression bomb. As a compression bomb works by overloading the system when it is unpacked, the Avast scan does not unpack these files simply as a precaution.

If there was something malicious embedded inside the compressed files, it will be identified if/when the file is unpacked by another program (as the File Shield will scan any compressed file at the time that it is unpacked). Therefore, it is safe to ignore these "unable to scan" results.

Offline woodbury2

« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2019, 04:50:28 AM »