Author Topic: Avast BLOCKS Hardware-Assisted Virtualization !!! Yes it does !!!  (Read 79123 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Spec8472

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 231
Re: Avast BLOCKS Hardware-Assisted Virtualization !!! Yes it does !!!
« Reply #90 on: October 20, 2017, 09:09:08 AM »
Hi, microupdate fixing Android emulators issues will probably be released today.

Offline maxoid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast BLOCKS Hardware-Assisted Virtualization !!! Yes it does !!!
« Reply #91 on: January 30, 2019, 01:37:15 PM »
two years have passed
problem is still here
have to disable avast each time i run bluestacks

#dedication

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5416
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Avast BLOCKS Hardware-Assisted Virtualization !!! Yes it does !!!
« Reply #92 on: January 30, 2019, 07:44:54 PM »
Nope, OP posted first on December 7, 2014.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.8.2432 (build 20.8.5684.604) UI version 1.0.575.

Offline dominik.rauber

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast BLOCKS Hardware-Assisted Virtualization !!! Yes it does !!!
« Reply #93 on: June 05, 2019, 01:13:52 PM »
Because I'm searching for a resolution with my File Server on a VSphere 5.5 Host I found this thread.
Since I've installed Avast CLoud Care I've the problem that from time to time vmware tools are stopped.
I'm not able to login to the server or to reboot in a normal way, allways I need to do a reset.
I'm wondering why this option is not disabled by default if I see that many people have the same problem with hardware assisted virtualization.
I've disabled it now and I'll reboot the server to night and I hope that the problem is solved.

Offline glnz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
Re: Avast BLOCKS Hardware-Assisted Virtualization !!! Yes it does !!!
« Reply #94 on: June 05, 2019, 01:49:11 PM »
dominik - will be interesting to see your update.

However, this has not been a problem for a while.  Avast has not interfered with my XP Mode in some time. 

On my Win 7 Pro 64-bit, the current Avast is version 19.5.2378 (build 19.5.4444.500).  Enable hardware-assisted virtualization is on (checked).  XP Mode works.
Various Dell Optiplexes running XP Pro SP3 32-bit, Win 7 Pro SP1 64-bit and Win 10 Pro 64-bit.  Firefox with security add-ons.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44529
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast BLOCKS Hardware-Assisted Virtualization !!! Yes it does !!!
« Reply #95 on: June 05, 2019, 01:56:04 PM »
Because I'm searching for a resolution with my File Server on a VSphere 5.5 Host I found this thread.
Since I've installed Avast CLoud Care I've the problem that from time to time vmware tools are stopped.
I'm not able to login to the server or to reboot in a normal way, allways I need to do a reset.
I'm wondering why this option is not disabled by default if I see that many people have the same problem with hardware assisted virtualization.
I've disabled it now and I'll reboot the server to night and I hope that the problem is solved.
To get a reply I suggest you post your question in the proper forum.
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=104.0
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline STEFANO129

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast BLOCKS Hardware-Assisted Virtualization !!! Yes it does !!!
« Reply #96 on: June 16, 2019, 04:55:02 PM »
My company decided to move from McAfee to Avast and I installed the latest version (NOT free version, Avast Business Antivirus Pro Plus 19.5.2563 (build 19.5.4444.503)) few days go. From that I started to have a series of problems which I never had before:
Slype became very slow expecially in skype calls, and the VPN with other companies became quite unusable.
I found out that as part of the installation there were also Avast Securline VPN. After having disabled that, skype and VPN went back working fine.
Then after a couple of days I needed to use a VM under VMWARE with Windows XP, which I use quite often-
The VM showed to be very very slow (like 10 minutes to start up and in general tens of times slower than usual), initially I did not think about AVAST (as I was running anyhow an unusual CPU consuming activity), searching for issue on how to speed up VMWARE when running high CPU consuming tasks.
Then suddendly I gave a shot to search for VMWARE and AVAST together and found this (and other similar) forum,
I deactivate the flag on the Hardware-Assisted Virtualization and the VM went back to sanity, running the tasks in about 50 times faster.
What honestly looks to me not acceptable is the fact that the answer from AVAST to this problem is "just deactivate the flag" and this issue is there from several years and I did not have it in the former Antivirus.
So far in few days I have needed to disable 2 features of the Avast product for being able to do my job, I would like to use the feature I pay for if they provide more safety to my laptop, and not just renounce to them.
THanks. Stefano.