Author Topic: Avast has blocked access to ... because the server certificate has been revoked  (Read 3934 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pschroeter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
For a couple days I’ve been seeing “Avast has blocked access to https://tag.sp.advertising.com/ because the server certificate has been revoked.”
It doesn’t seem to be hurting anything, but it’s annoying to see it every time I go to Yahoo which is a website I use a lot. I’m not sure if I see it any other website and I think it’s blocking the same external website over, and over, and over…

I don’t want to shut off all notices and use Silent Mode, I think.

Also, can I adjust the amount of time the popup intrudes?

Update:
I reported it as a false positive and Avast got back to me.
Hello and thank you for contacting us,

We checked this with our virus specialists and this detection was correct - the certificate on this URL was indeed revoked. As of right now, this should be fixed so Avast should not be detecting it anymore.

Best Regards,
Prokop
The Avast Support Team
« Last Edit: June 26, 2019, 06:35:06 AM by pschroeter »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43081
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82687
  • No support PMs thanks
uMatrix add-on in firefox doesn't like it either (see image1), that stops it loading so I didn't get an Avast alert.

If I disable uMatrix, and uBlock Origin (allow specific domain and sub-domain) then Firefox blocks it, see image2.

So I don't get to avast alerting as that point I feel there are issues above avast that this site needs to deal with.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.558) UI-1.0.460/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Simion

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 820
I'm getting that message at MSN.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82687
  • No support PMs thanks
I'm getting that message at MSN.

What browser and what version ?

There were some issues with a firefox versions and how avast does its HTTPS scanning (using its own certificate).  I don't know if it might be related as there have been firefox and avast updates which should have addressed that.

EDIT:
Another related topic and post:
According to Firefox, the certificate has been revoked... ::)
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.558) UI-1.0.460/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5413
  • Spartan Warrior
Yep, post is here:  https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=227968.0

If you read the whole thread, you'll see there is a resolution to this issue as well, as they seem to be the same thing, with your issue likely not being as severe.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.559) UI version 1.0.460.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82687
  • No support PMs thanks
So what is the solution?  I am having the same problem, Avast is crashing (closing down) after giving 18 Pop Ups that it is blocking this damn site:   hxxps://tag.sp.advertising.com/   How do I remove this shit site, this virus, please?

Why does this site hxxps://tag.sp.advertising.com have the power to shut down Avast?


1.  As has been mentioned in the topic given there is a fix in version 19.6 of avast soon to be released.

2.  It isn't within avasts power to remove sites only to block access to them.

3.  It isn't shutting down avast, it is still running isn't it ?
« Last Edit: June 25, 2019, 01:33:56 AM by DavidR »
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.558) UI-1.0.460/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline chakspin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
No, it stops running.  I don't see Avast in the Task Manager, that's what worries me the most.   I am running Windows 10.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43081
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Going to the link in Firefox brings up the following from Avast:

It does nothing to Avast. Avast is still running and protecting your system.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2019, 11:56:31 PM by bob3160 »
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline chakspin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Yes, here to me too.  And it shots down Avast, I get this:

Offline chakspin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
How can this Virus actually and easily "shot down, kill" the Antivirus that is supposed to be the cure????????

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43081
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
That doesn't mean that Avast has been shut down.
All it shows is that at the time you looked, Avast wasn't busy checking on something.

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline chakspin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Look at the screenshots, you don't what you are talking about.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43081
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Look at the screenshots, you don't what you are talking about.
Maybe you need to look at the screenshot I posted?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline chakspin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
That doesn't mean anything or you don't have the same problem. After Avast popups about 15 times that it is blocking that site; Avast Antivirus disappears from the Task Manager and it doesn't show up on the Task Bar and also the Popups disappear; why? because Avast is shot down. 

I have to go to the startup menu and click it again and then Avast is back on the task manager and the popups reappear again.  And the whole shit re-start all over again, like in the Bill Murray movie Groundhog Day.  Got it?