Author Topic: Locate function not working [Solved]  (Read 799 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tonanet

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • I'm a llama!
Locate function not working [Solved]
« on: July 01, 2019, 03:41:12 PM »
Hello guys,

The Locate function is not working on my device. All permissions were successfully given.
My phone is a Xiami MI 9.
The locate function on Mi Cloud is working perfectly, though.

Any Ideas on how to make Avast locate function works properly in this device?

Thanks for your time!
« Last Edit: July 12, 2019, 06:36:42 PM by Tonanet »

Offline Tereza V.

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 856
Re: Locate function not working
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2019, 06:52:48 PM »
Hi, I guess you mean commands from the web account (the SMS commands do not work anymore).
If you do, please check the following:
 1. Whether the Location is activated in "Android Settings--Location (must be ON)"
 2. Whether the Avast Mobile Security has a location permission in "Android Settings--Apps--Avast Mobile Security--Permissions--Location must be ON"
 3. Whether the location works for other apps (if not, turn the GPS off and on again)
 4. Try to open the app, make sure the device does not get hibernated and send the command.

Offline Tonanet

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Locate function not working
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2019, 02:16:21 PM »
Hello Tereza,

Thanks for your reply.

Here are my findings:

1- It was already activated.
2- It was already activated,
3- Yes, location works normally for all other applications.
4- When I send the command with the avast opened, it works perfectly. However, if I lock my phone, or close avast (even not locking the phone), it stops working right away.

Thanks for your time.

Offline Tereza V.

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 856
Re: Locate function not working
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2019, 04:08:32 PM »
You need to set your device to stop killing our app running in the background.

- go to your device Settings
- tap on "Installed apps" (or "Apps")
- select the Avast app
- make sure the "Autostart" is turned on
- tap on "Battery Saver" and set it to "No restrictions"

Make sure not to swipe the app away in "Recent apps" - just keep it there so it may run in background.

Offline Tonanet

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Locate function not working [Solved]
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2019, 06:36:18 PM »
Hello Tereza,

Thanks for your reply.

I followed the provided steps and the problem was solved successfully. Thank you,

In my tests, even removing avast from the "Recent Apps", the locate function kept working as expected.

Thanks for your help!


Offline Tereza V.

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 856
Re: Locate function not working [Solved]
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2019, 11:15:29 PM »
Glad to hear that, thanks for the update!