Author Topic: "New network detected" popup bottom left  (Read 593 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline videogamefan4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
"New network detected" popup bottom left
« on: August 01, 2019, 08:07:42 PM »
Every now and then (like once every week or two) I get a popup on the bottom right that says "new network detected" and im wondering why. I am always in the middle of just browsing the internet, not changing any settings in avast or anything. when i view it, the network name and ipv4 is the same, so i cant see anything that changed. Just wondering if this is normal and if its maybe the ipv6 changing or something? i do not know very much about the internet/computers etc so apologies if these are stupid sounding questions / don' t make sense.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 67398
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: "New network detected" popup bottom left
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2019, 08:11:11 PM »
- Which Avast..? (Free/Pro/IS/Premier)
- Which version..?
- OS..? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP/Build..?)
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.9.2434.Beta#2 [UI.573] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.4 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.4 - SB/CP/SL/DU.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline videogamefan4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: "New network detected" popup bottom left
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2019, 08:23:01 PM »
Hi sorry, I think the popup actually said "a network change was detected" not "a new network was detected"

- Which Avast..? (Free/Pro/IS/Premier) Premier
- Which version..? 19.6.2383 (build 19.6.4546.514)
- OS..? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP/Build..?)windows 10 64
- Other security related software installed..? none
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..? none

Also I should note my pc is a clean install since 3 days ago. First thing I installed was avast. and i got that popup once since the clean install.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2019, 08:28:29 PM by videogamefan4 »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 67398
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: "New network detected" popup bottom left
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2019, 08:35:27 PM »
Are you using a VPN..? If so, that's normal.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.9.2434.Beta#2 [UI.573] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.4 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.4 - SB/CP/SL/DU.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline videogamefan4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: "New network detected" popup bottom left
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2019, 08:47:05 PM »
Not using VPN

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 67398
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: "New network detected" popup bottom left
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2019, 08:51:52 PM »
Well, there can be many reasons, but the important thing is that's nothing to worry about.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.9.2434.Beta#2 [UI.573] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.4 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.4 - SB/CP/SL/DU.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0