Author Topic: Can't update windows  (Read 1624 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 42266
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Can't update windows
« Reply #15 on: August 20, 2019, 09:39:06 PM »
Is System Restore active on your system? If so, hold down the shift key when you restart the system
and select the recovery mode when your system restarts.
If you have no restorepoints, hopefully you have an image backup to restore your system.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline jamester01

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't update windows
« Reply #16 on: August 20, 2019, 09:41:39 PM »
Is System Restore active on your system? If so, hold down the shift key when you restart the system
and select the recovery mode when your system restarts.
If you have no restorepoints, hopefully you have an image backup to restore your system.

Apparently it wasn't.  I tried that earlier and no restore points were available.  I might have had an image on my second hard drive but I don't know how long ago it was backed up to it.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 42266
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Can't update windows
« Reply #17 on: August 20, 2019, 10:06:45 PM »
Is System Restore active on your system? If so, hold down the shift key when you restart the system
and select the recovery mode when your system restarts.
If you have no restorepoints, hopefully you have an image backup to restore your system.

Apparently it wasn't.  I tried that earlier and no restore points were available.  I might have had an image on my second hard drive but I don't know how long ago it was backed up to it.
Unfortunately at this point it's too late to stress the importance of making regular image backups. I also don't have any easy fix
to reverse this problem.


Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline jamester01

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't update windows
« Reply #18 on: August 20, 2019, 10:09:49 PM »
Is System Restore active on your system? If so, hold down the shift key when you restart the system
and select the recovery mode when your system restarts.
If you have no restorepoints, hopefully you have an image backup to restore your system.

Apparently it wasn't.  I tried that earlier and no restore points were available.  I might have had an image on my second hard drive but I don't know how long ago it was backed up to it.
Unfortunately at this point it's too late to stress the importance of making regular image backups. I also don't have any easy fix
to reverse this problem.

Yeah I know.  Thanks for trying.  I'm pretty sure the tool corruption just messed everything up.  Luckily most my stuff is on my second and third HDD but some of my most important stuff is on my primary SSD that looks like what was messed up.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 42266
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Can't update windows
« Reply #19 on: August 20, 2019, 10:44:57 PM »
I am having the same issue, did you find a fix for this? Thanks!
Please start your own topic and explain exactly what your problem is.

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq