Author Topic: Email Problem  (Read 18279 times)

ontariogirl

Email Problem
« on: August 17, 2006, 11:39:49 PM »
Good evening:

I hope I'm in the correct post for my problem.  I'm new to Avast since last evening.  I am able to receive emails however when I try to send I get the following message "The server does not support a SSL connection"  My provider is Bell Sympatico.  I went to their website and it says the problem is with the antivirus.  Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.
Ontariogirl

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Email Problem
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2006, 11:53:46 PM »
Check your email account settings in your email client.
If they are not correct, change them.

Also let us know what OS you are using.
What email client you are using.

ontariogirl

« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2006, 11:56:03 PM »
Hi Eddy, thanks for replying.

I did check my settings; my email was working yesterday before I installed Avast.  I did try to unclick the SSL settings but I still can't send and get more errors.

I use Windows XP and Outlook Express.

Thanks

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2006, 11:59:33 PM »
What is the exact error you are getting?

ontariogirl

« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2006, 12:11:55 AM »
Hi Eddy:  Here it is:

"The server does not support a SSL connection, Account 'pophm.sympatico.ca'.  Server: 'smtphm.sympatico.ca.' Protocol SMTP, Server Response '250 OK', Port 25, Secure (SSL): Yes, Server Error: 250, Error Number 0x800CCC7D"

Good Luck :)

ontariogirl

« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2006, 12:20:49 AM »