Author Topic: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005  (Read 10634 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline deeverett

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #15 on: September 24, 2019, 06:34:34 AM »
I cant click on links because of Avast not letting open addition tabs in Chrome, will have to uninstall Avast again to do so

Offline deeverett

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #16 on: September 24, 2019, 08:17:02 AM »
Kwiq,

the newest crash files in both Chrome and Firefox were from 2017, the issue is NOT the apps crashing, it's that they won't load - hence the picture of the error message I posted to start this thread.


To get back to this page and click on the links, I had to uninstall Avast AGAIN!  If we can't solve this problem within the next few hours, I'll have to switch virus software.  This is my 76 year old Dad's computer, and he isn't capable of troubleshooting.  I'll be away from his computer for the next few weeks traveling, and I don't trust not having AV software on his computer....
« Last Edit: September 24, 2019, 08:19:31 AM by deeverett »

Offline deeverett

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #17 on: September 24, 2019, 08:40:48 AM »
File uploaded. Recreated issue 3x

Offline kwiq

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 256
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #18 on: September 24, 2019, 09:05:00 AM »
Hi deeverett
firefox, chrome and thunderbird exited with status code 0xC0000005 -access violation but none of them created a dump file :-(.
Can you try to run  thunderbird  or chrome under debugger to capture a dump file.
Just download procdump tool from https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/downloads/procdump
And start chrome from cmd line :
procdump.exe -accepteual -e -l -x c:\dump "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"

-x c:\dump - path where you want to store dumps - change it to your existing folder !!!

Similar cmd line for thunderbird:
procdump.exe -accepteual -e -l -x c:\dump "C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Thunderbird\thunderbird.exe"

I dont know if we will be able to fix the issue within few hours but any dump would help us fix this issues for other users !

Thank you

Offline Turtle3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #19 on: September 24, 2019, 06:09:39 PM »
Hi. I'm having the exact same problem.

My story: I live in Spain. My computer has Windows 7 and it had AVG Antivirus Free intalled. Last September 21st, AVG Antivirus got an update and, from that moment I couldn't get to open Firefox Browser. The program didn't even showed up, I only got the error message (0xc0000005) as deeverett said, but of course in Spanish. I unistalled Firefox and reinstalled it again, but the problem persited. So I downloaded and installed Google Chrome browser. Same as Firefox. It was downloaded and apparently installed without problem, but I couldn't open it. Exactly the same error message as Firefox.
After that I unistalled AVG Antivirus Free. And then both Firefox and Chrome opened and worked fine. No problems. I downloaded and intalled Avast Antivirus Free, and again, I wasn't able to open Firefox and Chrome. Exactly the same problem and error message.
Luckily I could do all that because I had MSN Explorer browser installed, and the problem didn't affect it. Explorer works fine with the new Avast/AVG Free Antivirus update. Your Avast browser is also working fine with Avast. I'm writing from there. Now I don't have AVG intalled.

I had been a user of Avast antivirus in my previous computer and was happy about it. But when I inherited my "new" computer it already had AVG Antivirus free installed, so I kept using that one. I'd like to keep both Avast and Firefox, so I would be very grateful if you could do something to fix that problem in the antivirus.

Finally, I don't know much about computers, but I managed to check the crash report folder of Firefox to look for any dump files. As deveerett said, no files in there.

Sorry, if all this information is not useful to you. Just wanted to help ;)

Thank you very much.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72890
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #20 on: September 24, 2019, 06:52:02 PM »
Sorry, if all this information is not useful to you. Just wanted to help ;)
Hi, if you want to help, please follow instructions from kwiq (Reply #18).
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.11.6787.IBC [UI.679] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Udo25

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #21 on: September 25, 2019, 01:02:24 AM »
Hello,

there are no dmp files for Chrome since this had been uninstalled and a new version installed later. However a got a number of dmp files from Firefox. Where can I upload these?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72890
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #22 on: September 25, 2019, 05:19:02 AM »
Uploading files to the Avast FTP server: https://support.avast.com/article/FTP-file-upload
Pick a unique name (and post it here), so the devs can find it. Cheers
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.11.6787.IBC [UI.679] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Andreas331

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #23 on: September 25, 2019, 03:36:33 PM »
I have the same problem, also on win7 / 64bit, firefox crashes with Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005

Maybe win7 / 64bit problem ...

Offline Turtle3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #24 on: September 25, 2019, 06:31:10 PM »
Hi, if you want to help, please follow instructions from kwiq (Reply #18).

I'd love to, but I'm afraid I barely understand what kwiq is saying. I'm sorry I can't be of more help.  :-\

Offline kwiq

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 256
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #25 on: September 25, 2019, 09:23:30 PM »
Hi,
may I ask you to do test. Disable Behavioral shield and try to start the failing application again.
Please let me know if it helped.

Offline Andreas331

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #26 on: September 26, 2019, 10:16:17 AM »
Hello kwiq,

this setting didn't help for me. I only use the filesystem protection feature (first checkmark) without any other service.

The problem even persists, if I pause avast. The only thing which is fixing the problem, is to uninstall the product.

Funny thing: waterfox has no problem with it and works great, whereas firefox is crashing... 

BR, Andreas

Offline kwiq

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 256
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #27 on: September 26, 2019, 10:58:23 AM »
Can you try to disable following components one by one  anti rootkit, file shield, web shield and test if the failing application can start ?

Offline phil_2019

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #28 on: September 26, 2019, 04:20:51 PM »
Hi,
Avast user of over 10 years here to report having this error 'Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005'
when open Firefox, Chrome, IE.

-Disabled shield, behavior, and disabled Avast protection completely did not work.
Finally Issue was solved by totally uninstall Avast.


1) 3 diffrent PCs/laptops running Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit.
2) Latest version of Firefox, Chrome.   Rarely use IE.

3) Avast: what ever version was available for update on this date: September 22, 2019.
(No longer having avast installed on any computer therefore don't know the version)


Offline Andi444

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Unable to load application error ending in 0xc0000005
« Reply #29 on: September 26, 2019, 08:39:17 PM »
Everything is disabled (rootkit, filesystem, PUP, web) beside the AVAST Service, which could not be stopped (even as admin), and error ending in 0xc0000005.

I'm sure you can easily reproduce the error on every win 7 64bit.

BTW: no dumpfile by procdump64.exe just screenresult

Code: [Select]
Process:               firefox.exe (6148)
CPU threshold:         n/a
Performance counter:   n/a
Commit threshold:      n/a
Threshold seconds:     n/a
Hung window check:     Disabled
Log debug strings:     Enabled
Exception monitor:     Unhandled
Exception filter:      [Includes]
                       *
                       [Excludes]
Terminate monitor:     Disabled
Cloning type:          Disabled
Concurrent limit:      n/a
Avoid outage:          n/a
Number of dumps:       1
Dump folder:             ...
Dump filename/mask:    PROCESSNAME_YYMMDD_HHMMSS
Queue to WER:          Disabled
Kill after dump:       Disabled


Press Ctrl-C to end monitoring without terminating the process.

[20:49:49] Exception: C0000005.ACCESS_VIOLATION
[20:49:50] The process has exited.
[20:49:50] Dump count not reached.

« Last Edit: September 26, 2019, 08:53:42 PM by Andi444 »