Author Topic: [Avast Premium Security] Bank Mode doesn't work  (Read 1670 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline newhorizons

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
[Avast Premium Security] Bank Mode doesn't work
« on: September 24, 2019, 02:51:38 PM »
Version: Avast Premium Security 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.535)

System: Windows 10 Pro

Description: Bank Mode is empty and doesn't show any browser.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72872
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: [Avast Premium Security] Bank Mode doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2019, 02:57:03 PM »
Known issue, but you could try the workaround: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=229461.msg1520220#msg1520220
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.11.6787.IBC [UI.679] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1832
Re: [Avast Premium Security] Bank Mode doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2019, 03:12:05 PM »
Hi,

Thank you for reporting this issue.

We are currently working on this issue, and we hope to release a fix as soon as possible.

In the meantime, could you try this temporary workaround, please?
Go to Avast -> Menu -> Settings -> Troubleshooting and enable passive mode. Then reboot the PC, and check if Bank Mode is working and disable passive mode again.

Offline newhorizons

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: [Avast Premium Security] Bank Mode doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2019, 08:13:14 PM »
Thanks, I will try the suggested fix.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7083
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: [Avast Premium Security] Bank Mode doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2019, 07:19:02 PM »
Thanks, I will try the suggested fix.

It is not a fix; it is a temporary "workaround" that has its own security risks
The real fix has been found and will be distributed through an update very soon.

Developers channel:
Quote by Lukas  "We have this fixed and we will release the fix as an update".
« Last Edit: September 25, 2019, 07:22:08 PM by schmidthouse »
???HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46295
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: [Avast Premium Security] Bank Mode doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2019, 09:59:58 PM »
Hi,

Thank you for reporting this issue.

We are currently working on this issue, and we hope to release a fix as soon as possible.

In the meantime, could you try this temporary workaround, please?
Go to Avast -> Menu -> Settings -> Troubleshooting and enable passive mode. Then reboot the PC, and check if Bank Mode is working and disable passive mode again.
I'm surprised that a workaround that has security risks is being suggested from Avast.  :(
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1832
Re: [Avast Premium Security] Bank Mode doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2019, 08:43:41 AM »
Hi,

Bank mode should now work again.
Please see this post. https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=226983.msg1520564#msg1520564