Author Topic: Avast keeps requesting a restart, says it is still protecting, known issue?  (Read 8684 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline johngcampbell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Hello,

Apologies if this has already been raised.

This message comes up on my two Window 10 laptops and two Windows 7 Laptops.

I can check Avast when I start the laptops and all is fine, sometimes the issue comes up immediately other times it will only come up after I have been using the laptop for an hour and I decide to open Avast icon.

Is this a known issue, I am using the free version.

This has been doing this for the past couple of months now.

Any help on the reason would be helpful.

Kind regards

John

Here is a picture of the screen I get.




« Last Edit: September 30, 2019, 11:31:55 AM by johngcampbell »

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37106
Re: Avast keeps requesting a restart, says it is still protecting, known issue?
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2019, 12:24:14 PM »
Tried avast repair and reboot ?  >>  https://support.avast.com/en-eu/article/Repair-Antivirus



Offline johngcampbell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avast keeps requesting a restart, says it is still protecting, known issue?
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2019, 01:27:11 PM »
Hello,

Thank you for that tip, I have done that and will see if it fixes the issue.

On the Windows 7 laptops I have just installed Avast on one so it was a brand new installation and it had this issue from day one.

Will report back on the fix on this Windows 10 laptop.

Thank you, appreciate the reply.

Regards

John

Offline johngcampbell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Hi,

Have tried the repair on both of the Windows 10 and Windows 7 laptops and both still have the issue of Avast saying it needs to restart.

Any other ideas, I could try uninstalling and reinstalling, but I think I already have tried that.

Cheers

John

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46140
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
How about hitting the restart computer button again?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline johngcampbell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Hi,

What's the point of antivirus software if you have to keep restarting the computer to make it work?

Not helpful.......................

John

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46140
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Hi,

What's the point of antivirus software if you have to keep restarting the computer to make it work?

Not helpful.......................

John
For some changes to take effect, a restart is quite often required. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5420
  • Spartan Warrior
Some changes (bugfixes, UI changes) to Avast are now being announced by the screenshot you posted above. 

I don't recall such a run of restarts prior to the current spate of notices, so this is something new, I think, for all of us.

Problem is, information as to the whyfor and reason for the required restart doesn't seem to be present. 

I suggest looking in the About section to note/record the program version and UI version before you reboot.  Afterwards, check there again to see if anything changed, and if so, what it was that changed.  It's likely any changes noted there are the reason for the restart.

NOTE:  A recent restart notice turned out to be a fix for the BankMode not starting issue.  That fix was deployed by Avast program version 19.8.293 (build 19.8.4793.539). 

Current build number is now 19.8.4793.541, and that one did require a reboot to take effect.

See attached below:
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 20H2 Avast Premier Security version 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.652) UI version 1.0.612.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7078
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Another Thread with 'similar' posts. Not sure it's related to the OP's issue
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=229710.new;topicseen#new

Post #13
Petr is asking for logs to assist pinpointing the issue
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline MrMaxaMan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
The same thing has been happening to me for weeks. Every day or two Avast wants a restart.
Avast Free 20.3.2405 - Comodo 12.2.2.7036 Firewall with D+ - Winpatrol Free.
On demand - MBAM - Super Antispyware.
Windows 10 64bit - 16GB Ram.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7078
  • When you think you know, Think Again
The same thing has been happening to me for weeks. Every day or two Avast wants a restart.

Have you provided logs as requested by Petr in the link I provided to another similar Thread?
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline MrMaxaMan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
The same thing has been happening to me for weeks. Every day or two Avast wants a restart.

Have you provided logs as requested by Petr in the link I provided to another similar Thread?

Yes, all done.
Avast Free 20.3.2405 - Comodo 12.2.2.7036 Firewall with D+ - Winpatrol Free.
On demand - MBAM - Super Antispyware.
Windows 10 64bit - 16GB Ram.

Offline johngcampbell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Hi,

Thanks for the tips, I will check the logs and see what is being done.

It would help if Avast just said in the notice that the restart is required as an upgrade or update has been done since you logged on rather than just the restart required statement.

Appreciate the help, thank you.

Cheers

John