Author Topic: Vista RC1 x86 and Avast - not working  (Read 105961 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Fernando 1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Vista RC1 x86 and Avast - not working
« on: August 25, 2006, 05:59:45 PM »
I had no problem to install and run Avast! Home v. 4.7.871 on earlier Vista versions, but it doesn't work with the new Build 5536.
Any idea?
« Last Edit: September 02, 2006, 02:29:59 PM by Fernando 1 »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Vista 5536 and Avast - not working
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2006, 09:01:52 PM »
Which is the error message?
Anything into Windows Events and/or avast logs that allow to debug this?
Any firewall installed?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Fernando 1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Vista 5536 and Avast - not working
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2006, 09:40:57 PM »
Which is the error message?
Anything into Windows Events and/or avast logs that allow to debug this?
Any firewall installed?
It just doesn't work (without any message).
When I try to update manually, I get the message, that this Vista Beta version is not supported by Avast.
No, I have no firewall installed.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Vista 5536 and Avast - not working
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2006, 09:43:38 PM »
When I try to update manually, I get the message, that this Vista Beta version is not supported by Avast.
By the icon?
It's known that the icon does not have enough rights to update in Vista.
You need to open the antivirus (right click the 'a' blue icon, start avast antivirus) and update.
You can set - it works ok - the automatic update for both program and antivirus  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Fernando 1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Vista 5536 and Avast - not working
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2006, 10:34:32 PM »
It's known that the icon does not have enough rights to update in Vista.
You need to open the antivirus (right click the 'a' blue icon, start avast antivirus) and update.
You can set - it works ok - the automatic update for both program and antivirus  ;)
Vista does not work with my system.
When I try to update the way you proposed, I get a message, that Avast has a known compatibilty issue with this Windows version.
The problem could not be resolved.
Edit:
When I start Avast I get the message:
Code: [Select]
Avast!: The AAVM sub system has detected an PRC error.
The operation could not be finished.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2006, 10:39:15 PM by Fernando 1 »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Vista 5536 and Avast - not working
« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2006, 05:01:33 AM »
When I start Avast I get the message:
Code: [Select]
Avast!: The AAVM sub system has detected an PRC error.
The operation could not be finished.
It's an RPC error (Remote Procedure Call, a windows necessary service...).
Are you running any other antivirus in this Vista installation?
Did you try to 'repair' avast installation through Control Panel?
The best things in life are free.

Offline r0b3rt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • I'm not a llama!
Re: Vista 5536 and Avast - not working
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2006, 07:02:37 AM »
getting similar errors, even after trying a repair and rebooting


Offline Fernando 1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Vista 5536 and Avast - not working
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2006, 08:46:33 AM »
Are you running any other antivirus in this Vista installation?
No, I always use only Avast!
Quote
Did you try to 'repair' avast installation through Control Panel?
Yes, but this didn't help.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Vista 5536 and Avast - not working
« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2006, 10:54:10 AM »
Can you please post the files <avast>\data\log\error.log and warning.log (if they exist on your system)?

And, do I understand it correctly that when you boot, the avast tray icon has the red mark on it, and when you click it, you get the RPC related error?

If so, can you please check if the "avast! Antivirus" service is running (Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services), and if not, if it can be started?


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Fernando 1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Vista 5536 and Avast - not working
« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2006, 03:52:14 PM »
Can you please post the files <avast>\data\log\error.log and warning.log (if they exist on your system)?
And, do I understand it correctly that when you boot, the avast tray icon has the red mark on it, and when you click it, you get the RPC related error?
If so, can you please check if the "avast! Antivirus" service is running (Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services), and if not, if it can be started?
1. There is only a SETUP.LOG file, nothing else.
2. The avast tray icon has a red mark. When I click it, I get the RPC related error.
3. The Avast Antivirus Service cannot be started (Error 1068).

By the way: I heard from a lot of Betatesters, that Avast! does not work with Vista 5536. So you can really believe me.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Vista 5536 and Avast - not working
« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2006, 05:53:35 PM »
1. There is only a SETUP.LOG file, nothing else.
Can you post its contents?
At least, the last lines of it?
Thanks.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Fernando 1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Vista 5536 and Avast - not working
« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2006, 06:23:22 PM »
1. There is only a SETUP.LOG file, nothing else.
Can you post its contents?
At least, the last lines of it?
Thanks.
Sorry, I just have deinstalled Avast, because I could not use it and I need a working Antivirus programme.
If it's really important for you, I will reinstall it.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Vista 5536 and Avast - not working
« Reply #12 on: August 26, 2006, 07:17:03 PM »
If it's really important for you, I will reinstall it.
In fact, it could be important to Alwil to debug the problem...
I can't help further as I'm not using this particular build of Vista.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Fernando 1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Vista 5536 and Avast - not working
« Reply #13 on: August 26, 2006, 08:21:15 PM »
If it's really important for you, I will reinstall it.
In fact, it could be important to Alwil to debug the problem...
I can't help further as I'm not using this particular build of Vista.
So I deinstalled the other Antivirus programme and reinstalled Avast.
It still doesn't work at all. Within the LOG folder there is neither an error.log nor a warning.log file.
Here are the last lines of the setup.log file:
Code: [Select]
26.08.2006 20:04:53.000 1156615493 package Transferred files: 10
26.08.2006 20:04:53.000 1156615493 package Transferred bytes: 11132333
26.08.2006 20:04:53.000 1156615493 package Transfer time: 592 ms
26.08.2006 20:04:53.000 1156615493 file NeedReboot=true
26.08.2006 20:04:53.000 1156615493 system Reboot set by filRenameOnReboot(J:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\reboot.txt,)
26.08.2006 20:04:53.000 1156615493 file MoveFileEx(J:\PROGRA~1\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Setup\reboot.txt, NULL)
26.08.2006 20:04:53.000 1156615493 general Return code: 0x20000000 [Something done]
26.08.2006 20:04:53.000 1156615493 general Stopped: 26.08.2006, 20:04:53
I doubt, that this really will help you.
I resume: The installation was fine, but after the reboot Avast did not begin its work at all. Hitting on the redly signed Avast tray button produced the RPC error message - that's all I can report.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Vista 5536 and Avast - not working
« Reply #14 on: August 26, 2006, 09:19:24 PM »
Error 1068 means "The dependency service or group failed to start.". Can you please open the Windows Event Viewer, and look up the respective entry describing which dependency service failed to start?

BTW We will install Vista 5536 on Monday and test it in-house, too...


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.