Author Topic: Avast UI opening with FF  (Read 692 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rocksteady

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 832
Avast UI opening with FF
« on: December 19, 2019, 09:38:06 AM »
Just had an experience of Avast UI screen opening with "This Computer is Protected" on opening Firefox immediately shortly after starting the PC. Note I have the Avast browser extension running in FF.
This is the first time I have been surprised by this screen appearing, but believe other users have complained of this odd behaviour on the forum recently. Is it a bug that Avast are aware of?
FYI, I have Avast Free. 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.544), UI version 1.0.437.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83783
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast UI opening with FF
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2019, 10:02:34 AM »
Not something I'm seeing, but then again I'm not running the Avast browser add-ons for firefox (if it is indeed connected).
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.598) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66832
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast UI opening with FF
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2019, 10:30:48 AM »
Not something I'm seeing, but then again I'm not running the Avast browser add-ons for firefox (if it is indeed connected).
Well, I'm running AOS but haven't seen it here either.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2428.B#3 [UI.562] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline rocksteady

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 832
Re: Avast UI opening with FF
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2019, 10:47:01 AM »
OK. On that basis I did a Repair of Avast via the UI.
When I then opened up FF the browser ad-in icon was missing i.e. empty space, but mouse over indicated add-on was present.
Realised I should have done a Restart after Repair. After Restart FF now back displaying the add-on icon OK.
I will post here again if I encounter more unexplained sightings of the Avast UI.

I have now found the other thread I thought was related:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=230936.0

« Last Edit: December 19, 2019, 10:49:37 AM by rocksteady »

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 715
Re: Avast UI opening with FF
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2019, 10:49:57 AM »
Just had an experience of Avast UI screen opening with "This Computer is Protected" on opening Firefox immediately shortly after starting the PC. Note I have the Avast browser extension running in FF.
This is the first time I have been surprised by this screen appearing, but believe other users have complained of this odd behaviour on the forum recently. Is it a bug that Avast are aware of?
FYI, I have Avast Free. 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.544), UI version 1.0.437.
Hi,
I have tested both and did not experience it, except for accidentally clicking on both.
Is it possible that you have Avast AV and Firefox next to each other (either pinned to the taskbar or on the desktop) and accidentally clicking both?

Offline rocksteady

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 832
Re: Avast UI opening with FF
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2019, 11:01:25 AM »
r@vast, thanks for your interest, and reply.
No, didn't accidently click UI launcher as FF and Avast are separated at both ends of my taskbar.
I am putting this down to be an intermittent maybe one-off fault. I know such things are hard to reproduce. I hope the repair may have done some good. I will report if I see it happen again.
FYI, I did not rush in to open FF after startup, I did infact wait until the Avast icon appeared in taskbar, so should not have been caused by a race condition.