Author Topic: Windows 10 is factory-initialized after installing Avast business  (Read 3039 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PAID

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
A security unpatched Windows 10 (RS2) has been found to be initializing. all application and data removed.

This is occurred by avast business installing and rebooting after removing Avast endpoint protection.

All applications and data are deleted and Windows 10 is factory reset.

but, there is no problem after windows was patched (RS4).

Do you have any information about this?

My customers want to know the reason why this issue was caused.

Do you know how to restore the PC?

Regards

Bongkeun

Offline PAID

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: Windows 10 is factory-initialized after installing Avast business
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2020, 10:02:31 AM »
Today, Windows 10 reset again after uninstall Avast business. Windows 10 had patched latest. All application are gone.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 65340
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Windows 10 is factory-initialized after installing Avast business
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2020, 10:50:01 AM »
Strange issue. Contact business support: https://www.avast.com/business-support-contact-form.php
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.5.2415.BUC [UI.532] - CC 5.68 - EEK - FF ESR 68.10 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.10 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline tomsc

  • Avast team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
Re: Windows 10 is factory-initialized after installing Avast business
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2020, 05:42:19 PM »
What version of the Avast Antivirus was installed on the device?

Offline PAID

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: Windows 10 is factory-initialized after installing Avast business
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2020, 01:13:51 AM »
19.6 and 19.7.

Offline _George_

  • Avast Sales Specialist
  • Avast Reseller
  • Massive Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3201
  • Дистрибьютор Avast и AVG
    • www.belrus.net
Re: Windows 10 is factory-initialized after installing Avast business
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2020, 09:07:13 AM »
Did you ask support? What they say to you about it?
www.belrus.net - Avast Distributor & AVG Distributor in Russia and CIS. Бесплатный телефон для пользователей платных версий: +7-800-707-708-7

Offline PAID

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: Windows 10 is factory-initialized after installing Avast business
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2020, 07:28:03 AM »
still not responsed

Offline Nuno40

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Windows 10 is factory-initialized after installing Avast business
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2020, 11:31:46 AM »
My problem is not with the server version but the business one our workers are using.

Offline tomsc

  • Avast team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
Re: Windows 10 is factory-initialized after installing Avast business
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2020, 03:04:13 PM »
Is this caused only when migrating from legacy Avast endpoint protection suites? If so I would recommend uninstalling the legacy product first and then after reboot perform clean install of AV 19.7 and newer.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2020, 03:21:01 PM by tomsc »

Offline PAID

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: Windows 10 is factory-initialized after installing Avast business
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2020, 01:57:29 AM »
I had same 30~40 cases and most of all was occurred since migration from Avast endpoint.

Offline mickey.b

  • Business Senior Support Technician
  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 140
    • Avast Business Technical Support
Re: Windows 10 is factory-initialized after installing Avast business
« Reply #10 on: February 10, 2020, 08:57:26 PM »
I had same 30~40 cases and most of all was occurred since migration from Avast endpoint.

Were you trying to install the Avast Business on top of the endpoint? If so, have you tried uninstalling endpoint first before installing the Avast Business?
- Mickey B.
Avast Business Senior Support Technician
https://www.avast.com/business/support