Author Topic: strange bug  (Read 3427 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline julot

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
strange bug
« on: September 02, 2006, 04:29:58 PM »
hi

lately i've been getting this strange bug when i start up windows, avast starts ok but then if i want to launch the antivirus interface, the memory test starts, finishes (with sucess) but then nothing happens, the interface does not appear and then if i right-click on anything (file, folder, etc...) and i click on any choice (properties for instance) it still works but the 'properties' line in the explorer stays on top and it won't go unless i reboot (and still, the line will still appear on the 'deconnexion' screen'). avast still works though, if i double-click on the antivirus again THEN the interface appears.... any idea ?  have you heard of that before ?

my config : windoxs XP media center edition, avast home edition, kerio personal firewall, A² free... what else, i use firefox, windows live messenger (could it be that ?)
thanx

Offline julot

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: strange bug
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2006, 05:49:12 PM »
by the way i've just unistalled/reinstalled and i still get the same bug........... >:(

Offline roro

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 437
Re: strange bug
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2006, 08:47:22 AM »
Julot

I had the same problem on my laptop.  It was caused by Kerio firewall once it updated, so I uninstalled Kerio and  changed to Comodo firewall.
Here is the link to the topic discussing this.

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=22937.0

Ro Ro 8) 8)
« Last Edit: September 03, 2006, 08:49:47 AM by roro »
2003 Win XP SP3, Pent4 2.4 GHz, OE, 1 GB RAM, 80GB HD, comodo firewall
2008 Windows 7 32 bit, 1,8 GHZ, 4 GB RAM,,Windows Defender, windows firewall
(all Machines Avast 8.01483, MBAM, SAS, Firefox 20.01 and IE 8

Offline miscreant

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
  • I'm a llama!
Re: strange bug
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2006, 01:44:56 PM »
hi

lately i've been getting this strange bug when i start up windows, avast starts ok but then if i want to launch the antivirus interface, the memory test starts, finishes (with sucess) but then nothing happens, the interface does not appear and then if i right-click on anything (file, folder, etc...) and i click on any choice (properties for instance) it still works but the 'properties' line in the explorer stays on top and it won't go unless i reboot (and still, the line will still appear on the 'deconnexion' screen'). avast still works though, if i double-click on the antivirus again THEN the interface appears.... any idea ?  have you heard of that before ?

my config : windoxs XP media center edition, avast home edition, kerio personal firewall, A² free... what else, i use firefox, windows live messenger (could it be that ?)
thanx

Might be worth checking out this thread (partcicularly post 14) regarding Asquared.
http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=141889
The new update a few weeks ago has caused lots of explorer.exe right click contect menu problems ,especially on 98se but also reported on XP.

Windows 7 64bit ,admuncher,Malwarebytes pro (website blocking disabled) Outpost pro firewall

Offline julot

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: strange bug
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2006, 03:42:28 PM »
hey guys thanks for the support feels good to know i'm not the only one with this problem

i really think kerio is the problem, i thought of A² for a sec but lemme tell ya i've just restored entirely, installed avast, worked fine, installed kerio and other programms (firefox, a², VLC...etc) and the bug came back... so i restored to a previous point before installing all the other programms, avast is working perfectly then reinstalled kerio, checked...the bug was back... (no other programms than avast and kerio at this point)... yeah i'm disappointed too i really liked kerio but i guess i'm gonna have to uninstall it and switch to another firewall... zone alarm i guess but i'm gonna have to deactivate avast's web shield which is kown to be in conflict with ZA so... i hope sunbelt softwares fixes that bug in the near future.. hope this helped
cheerio

Offline julot

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: strange bug
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2006, 03:47:39 PM »
or maybe just an older version of kerio....
roro thanks for the link  i found a post with another link where you can get the older versions of kerio :
http://www.filehippo.com/download_kerio_personal_firewall/?468

ah... 4.2.3. the good ol'days with absolutely no bug   ::)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85946
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: strange bug
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2006, 04:18:49 PM »
<snip>
yeah i'm disappointed too i really liked kerio but i guess i'm gonna have to uninstall it and switch to another firewall... zone alarm i guess but i'm gonna have to deactivate avast's web shield which is kown to be in conflict with ZA

If you are going to use the free version of ZA then there is no conflict. The problem is with ZA Pro and its Privacy function when set to high. If you do install ZA free just answer NO to the compatibility question when it eventually pops up.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: strange bug
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2006, 12:16:52 AM »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.