Author Topic: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble  (Read 1544 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline robuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« on: March 17, 2020, 07:02:47 AM »
Hello All,
Since I have had my Free Avast since January this year(after W7 help ceased) Avast has hardly ever run a smart scan, now it has run one every day,for 4 days,with the predictable results that I am under threat(I am not) and need to purchase a years upgrade.

I suppose I had the 3 month grace period and now I will be more continuously hassled for an upgrade.

Can some one please tell me how to turn off the auto smart scan function-allowing me to do it once a week or so, whilst being able to keep the underlying protection continuing as normal?

Thanks
Rob[size=8t]

[/size]
« Last Edit: March 17, 2020, 07:07:44 AM by robuk »

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1837
Re: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2020, 08:37:12 AM »
Hi,

Please open the Avast user interface and select Protection ▸ Virus Scans.
Here you should see a list of scan options. It might be that you have a custom scan set up.
Please have a look at this guide: https://support.avast.com/en-ww/article/Antivirus-scan-settings


Offline robuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2020, 06:22:12 PM »
Thanks for your reply.
Nothing has changed within my settings since I have had Avast. I have not altered them.

I have opened the user interface as suggested and looked at the link provided. I can not see where you can set Smart Scan to scan on a schedule? or stop it at source to only scan when I want.
Is smart scan different or the same as the normal background scanning?
Its doing a Smart Scan every time I open my PC which is several times a day.
Thanks
Rob

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85965
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2020, 09:00:39 PM »
Look at the Avast UI > Protection > Virus Scans > Custom Scans - Smart Scan ... (three dots menu) Settings.  Check to see if the Smart Scan is scheduled to scan, set it to never.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline robuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2020, 07:23:11 AM »
Thanks for your reply David. I checked that and it was set to Never. As I said I have never altered my settings,except of course to change to data settings to private.

It's only in the last week that the Smart Scan runs every time I turn on. its a pain because there is no indication it is doing so in the dock icon. I have to open up the UI and turn it off.

I suspect it just a way for it to sell me the upgrade, because although it doesn't find ant threats. it always finds an "issue" it can help me with by way of an upgrade.
Perhaps I will just have to live with it.
Regards
R

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72913
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2020, 07:28:21 AM »
Strange, try a repair...

Repair Avast:
1. Avast GUI -> Settings -> Troubleshooting
2. Click on 'REPAIR APP'.
3. Follow instructions.
4. Reboot.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.11.6787.IBC [UI.681] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.4 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline robuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2020, 08:29:47 AM »
Asyn :)

Thank you. Did as you instructed,rebooted my PC and as yet Smart Scan did not start up. So hopefully problem solved. I will see how I get on in the next few days. Thanks again,to all friends for their advice.

Regards
R.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72913
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2020, 08:35:31 AM »
You're welcome. :)
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.11.6787.IBC [UI.681] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.4 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85965
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2020, 10:53:14 AM »
You're welcome, hopefully it is sorted now.

Strange how these things happen, I have avast free and this has never happened on any of my systems.  Though I currently don't have any systems that are Win7 and active.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline =Snake=

  • Avast? My Choice!!!
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11871
Re: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2020, 12:29:26 PM »

1. Strange how these things happen, I have avast free and this has never happened on any of my systems.  2. Though I currently don't have any systems that are Win7 and active.
Hi,

1: I confirm.
2: But there are others like me, who have W7 machines and they are still active like all my systems.
Main: AMD LE1620,W7ult SP1|MS-7091,P4,XP pro SP3| AMD-Athlon 1800+(XP pro SP3, FF 45.9 ESR,TB 45.8,CC 5.11)|
Laptops: Acer Aspire V5-591G,W10 Home[x64] v1909(Build 18363.959)|HPI_2020M,W8.1 pro[x64]|Amilo Xi2428,W8.1 pro|MD95400,W7ult SP1|MD97400,XP pro SP3|
FF 78.12.0 esr[NS,AOS,ABP],TB 78.12.0,MCS,CC 5.83, Defraggler 2.19.982,MBAM[OD],MBAE,FW(XP+W7):CIS 3.14[FW,D+],AV: Avast Free [XP+W7:10.4.2233] 20.8.2429|

Offline robuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2020, 02:21:45 PM »
Update.

Hello again. One days grace now Smart Scan is at it again. Twice today,every time I start up after going to sleep. I went to the settings to change the desktop icon to show when a scan is in place(so I could turn it off mid scan). Just by chance I caught it - how subtle this icon change from the usual to round icon is.
I only realised a scan was in place when my google map search was slowed. I think I am going to have to live with it.
Thanks
Rob

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85965
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2020, 03:35:50 PM »
I'm at a loss as to why this is happening, it is certainly the first report of this in the forums that I can recall.

Have you made any changes to the avast settings ?
If so I would suggest restoring the default settings - AvastUI > Settings > Troubleshooting - Reset all settings > Reset To Default and reboot.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline robuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2020, 04:49:14 PM »
 :)DavidR

Thanks David did that. I have made sure Smart Scan is set to never, actually I did that two days ago but it made now difference.
I will see how I get on from now.
Although I have a great broadband connection, I have a very old PC with limited chip and graphics power,any smart scans going on effectively stops my using the web effectively,so its a real pain to have to keep switching it off.

I suspect its a marketing thing because as I said before it always finds performance issues it can help me with   ;)

Rob

Offline rocksteady

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1223
Re: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2020, 05:07:58 PM »
@robuk.
I have never experienced unsolicited automated Smart Scans. I am even reluctant to run that scan manually.
I note your reference to "sleep" in above post.
If you make changes, it is a good idea to do a "Restart" to clean boot your machine. If you you use "Sleep" or "Shut down" then whilst the machine will startup quicker, it will have not performed a full clean re-boot.

Offline robuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Smart Scan every day-How to diasble
« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2020, 05:56:22 PM »
rocksteady

Thanks I have done both. I will see what happens tomorrow.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2020, 11:04:04 AM by robuk »