Author Topic: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..  (Read 46956 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RicardoB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« on: September 02, 2006, 05:53:25 PM »
When my Windows XP with SP2 starts,
Avast takes around 1 (ONE) minute to get ready.

During this time, a red circle appears in the "a" icon and other functions in Windows (like opening a txt file in notepad) don't work properly... so I always have to wait until the red circle dissapears to use the computer.

My computer is a Pentium 4 HT 2.8 Ghz, 1,5 Gb RAM, I don't have any other antivirus...
I have uninstalled and reinstalled Avast but the problem persists.

I know it is not the right behavior because I saw other computers starting avast as soon as Windows starts.

Anyone have an I idea to help me on this?

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2006, 05:55:34 PM »
Are you using Automatic IP detection for networking devices (LAN card) ?
This is usually the cause for incredibly long boot and startup times.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline RicardoB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2006, 06:08:16 PM »

This computer is at home, if I connect, it connects to the Internet.
It is really configured to automatic detection but I enable and disable my network connection only when I want to use the Internet..

So, I believe it is not the problem because when Windows starts the connetion is disabled. What do you think?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2006, 07:44:01 PM »
Which is your Standard Shield sensitivity level? High or Normal?
Which firewall do you use?
Which programs you have allowed to start automatically with Windows?
The best things in life are free.

Offline RicardoB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2006, 10:04:16 PM »
In Avast, I chose the middle option.

I use only Windows Firewall and Avast.

I avoid setting programs to start automatically.
The program that appear in my Start folder is only the Acrobat Reader. On the sysbar, when Windows starts, there is only the clock, Avast and sound icon.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2006, 12:04:38 AM »
In Avast, I chose the middle option.
Middle? Look at the screenshot, did you click on Details buttom?
Middle seems High, which is not good. The best balance between resources and protection is NORMAL.

I use only Windows Firewall and Avast.
But did you use in the past any antivirus besides avast?
The best things in life are free.

Offline RicardoB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2006, 02:20:38 AM »
I changed it to "Normal" now.
It seems that it loads a bit faster but I still have to wait for more than 30 seconds until avast finish starting (with the same red circle on the icon).

I had Norton last year and I read that it is too heavy and we need an extra tool to remove everything Norton leaves in the computer. I found one "Norton ALL Removal" and then I've installed Avast. (My machine became 3 times faster after that.. hehehe)

Do you think I should try another Norton removal anyway? Any suggestion?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2006, 03:31:33 AM »
I changed it to "Normal" now.
It seems that it loads a bit faster but I still have to wait for more than 30 seconds until avast finish starting (with the same red circle on the icon).
You can TEST if two other settings help or not...

1. Disable scan files on open and created/modified
    Boot and analise

2. Disable kernel-mode scanning
    Boot and analise

3. Disable Scan dynamic libraries on load
    Boot and analise

Do you think I should try another Norton removal anyway? Any suggestion?
It will be good...
Use Symantec removal tool following the three steps defined in the SymNRT tool info.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2006, 03:34:25 AM by Tech »
The best things in life are free.

Offline china

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2006, 03:04:53 AM »
This same problem is happening to me. Avast never used to do this before, but it started one or two months ago. I can't remember changing anything at the time.

Have you had any luck with this?

Offline RicardoB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2006, 03:34:08 AM »
Tech,

I did all that configuration changes and also run the Norton Removal Tool as you suggested.
Unfortunately I still have the same behavior... The red circle for almost one minute.

I don't get why it is happening.
I don't fill my computer with bullshits, I searched for spyware and found nothing.
Everything is normal after Avast starts.
I don't want to have to format my computer and reinstall everything.

Thanks for your help... and do you have another idea?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2006, 07:57:37 PM »
I don't fill my computer with bullshits, I searched for spyware and found nothing.
For any reason, did you change folders icons? Specially, icons of the Start Menu subfolders?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Culpeper

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1187
Re: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2006, 06:22:46 AM »
I'm on cable and I get the red circle on boot but it doesn't take very long for it to go away.  I don't view this as a problem.  It takes a moment for Avast to come online along with everything else that is booting up at the same time.  Enabling and disabling your connection rather than being online all the time is something that can be selected in the Avast menu settings.
The wind in the wires made a tattletale sound
And a wave broke over the railing
And every man knew, as the Captain did, too,
T'was the witch of November come stealing.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2006, 09:43:53 AM »
Guys, what if you wait for a while (e.g. a minute) before logging on? (i.e. before pressing Ctrl+Alt+Del and typing your username/password). Does it then still take so long for the red circle to go away?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11773
    • AVAST Software
Re: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2006, 10:32:55 AM »
I'd bet it doesn't.

Offline RicardoB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: When Windows starts a red circle stays for 1 minute..
« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2006, 12:22:29 PM »
Tech,

I moved the "avast Antivirus" folder from the Programs folder to the Accessories subfolder. But I don't see why it would influence.

... and I don't have any Avast icon in the Startup submenu, but it starts automatically. (When I run "msconfig" I see Avast is set to startup)

(just curiosity, I see you have a Brazilian flag in your profile. I'm from São Paulo)

Vlk,

As I use this computer at home, my exclusive use, I set Windows to automatic log on with an administration account so I don't pass through that Ctrl+Alt+Del screen.

I could wait for one minute until Avast finishes starting, but I see that in other computers Avast opens already loaded and running. I'd like to have the same behavior.