Author Topic: FALSE ALERT: WI-FI ROUTER HIJACK  (Read 604 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jnkspm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
FALSE ALERT: WI-FI ROUTER HIJACK
« on: April 09, 2020, 03:33:26 PM »
Hi,
Keep getting this Avast popup alert (screenshot: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=233333.0;attach=212339;image).

Ran a few online tests:
https://www.grc.com/shieldsup
https://www.f-secure.com/en/home/free-tools/router-checker
All clear, apparently.
Is this an Avast bug?
Regards,
« Last Edit: April 10, 2020, 04:03:39 PM by jnkspm »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70001
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: FALSE ALERT: WI-FI ROUTER HIJACK
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2020, 03:35:44 PM »
Please attach your screenshot(s)..!!
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.3.2459.BUC [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.9
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 89.1 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline jnkspm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: FALSE ALERT: WI-FI ROUTER HIJACK
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2020, 03:39:14 PM »
NOT SURE HOW TO DO THAT.

INSERT IMAGE?

Offline jursa

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: FALSE ALERT: WI-FI ROUTER HIJACK
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2020, 03:45:26 PM »
Hello jnkspm,

thanks for the report.

A few questions:
- how often popup appears ?
- could you run GUI/Protection/Wifi-Inspector feature to see detailed result what domains are currently detected as DNS hijack ?

Thank you,
David

Offline jnkspm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: FALSE ALERT: WI-FI ROUTER HIJACK
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2020, 04:11:43 PM »
Hi David,

- the Avast alert appears at startup on Windows 10 PC desktop directly connected via ethernet to a TP-LINK router, model ARCHER 8 V1
- the GUI Wifi scanner shows an alert for the D-LINK repeater, model similar to DHP W310

Clicking on the red "device not configured correctly" does nothing.

Pls see screenshots below:

« Last Edit: April 10, 2020, 03:59:59 PM by jnkspm »

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36993
Re: FALSE ALERT: WI-FI ROUTER HIJACK
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2020, 07:41:06 PM »
NOT SURE HOW TO DO THAT.

INSERT IMAGE?
Below the box you write in  Attachments and other options