Author Topic: SOLVED:windows10 hanging intermittently on new PC after avast antivirus install  (Read 5045 times)

Offline petr.kolacek

• Avast team
Hi forum
This problem can not be a new one.
It is well known that in general you should only have *one* antivirus program.
But I have been using avast with osx and windows for more than 15 years wo issue.
So I really wonder why avast is not working for this new Shuttle PC incl. latest HW.

If you check e.g. topic 212330.0 from 2017 a similar issue is reported as Topic: “Avast causes windows 10 Home edition to freeze until I uninstall avast”. No solution found there though.

Hence before going into extensive debug mode I think to be fair to avast we should give them a chance to respond to the ticket I have raised, esp. I expect them to comment on my 3 questions above.
I was only raising issue here in forum to see if anybody has experienced same issue and found a solution other than uninstalling avast.

If I install e.g malwarebytes on this PC there is no issue, but it seems that I need to keep avast uninstalled.

Br Peter

Hello Peter, it is really nice you use our products for such a long time and I will do my best to figure out, where is the problem and to help you stay protected by Avast.

So, in your original report you mentioned these three important points:
  • shutdown/restart/alt ctrl del hanging intermittently – power reset only option
  • boot without network mostly OK, problem comes after connecting ethernet cable (no wifi on this PC)
  • Finally I uninstalled avast 22.06.2020 and PC became stable

From this I understand the problem (with restart, shutdown, etc.) happens only with Avast and when the computer is connected to the internet.

First of all I quickly checked Windows 10 Home Edition 64bit with latest Windows updates together with latest Avast Free 20.4 version and there is no issue in this combination in general. The product can be installed, the system is stable, etc.