Author Topic: Avast - Performance Scan  (Read 807 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wittmann44

  • Pegasus
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
  • Retired professional engineer BSc.Eng M.I.Mech.E
Avast - Performance Scan
« on: July 30, 2020, 12:13:17 PM »
The scan will not go beyond 92% on Performance scan - it just sticks and I have to stop the scan.

Any suggestions for curing this ?

Is there a way of deleting the Performance scan ? I am not interested in this.
UTRINQUE PARATUS

Offline wittmann44

  • Pegasus
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
  • Retired professional engineer BSc.Eng M.I.Mech.E
Re: Avast - Performance Scan
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2020, 01:22:38 PM »
LATEST -
I placed Avast scan at 92% Performance on the task bar to see if it did finish. It did finish but took a long time.

I would still like to delete Performance from the scan.
I myself will decide what is junk and what programs and apps I have, regardless of what CPU they take, not rely on dome impartial program like Avast etc.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2020, 01:30:43 PM by wittmann44 »
UTRINQUE PARATUS

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36755

Offline wittmann44

  • Pegasus
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
  • Retired professional engineer BSc.Eng M.I.Mech.E
Re: Avast - Performance Scan
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2020, 03:51:39 PM »
Manage Smart Scan settings >>  https://help.avast.com/en/av_free/17/smartscan.html


https://support.avast.com/en-ww/article/Run-Antivirus-Smart-Scan/
Thanks Pondus for your comments, but https://help.avast.com/en/av_free/17/smartscan.html is out-of-date and there is no replacement.
Following Settings ▸ General ▸ Smart Scan - there is no Smart Scan.
See - for https://help.avast.com/en/av_free/17/smartscan.html



Settings>General (NO Smart Scan listed)with my Avast gives -



Competently different - NO scan options listed




UTRINQUE PARATUS

Offline wittmann44

  • Pegasus
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
  • Retired professional engineer BSc.Eng M.I.Mech.E
Re: Avast - Performance Scan
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2020, 05:05:25 PM »
After a great struggle, I found out how to delete the Performance Scan.

Here it is - Avast program version 20.6.2420 build 20.6.5495.561

Open Avast>Menu>Settings>Troubleshooting>Still having problems ?>Add/Modify Components>Uncheck Cleanup from listed items>Change>Authorisation>YES>Restart computer>All done - Performance issues scan now GONE !

Smart scan is now just - Outdated apps + Viruses and Malware.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2020, 05:50:46 PM by wittmann44 »
UTRINQUE PARATUS

Offline markuslian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast - Performance Scan
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2020, 02:57:56 PM »
Thank you wittmann44, I had the same problem with scanning and your answer with the steps to follow helped me.

Offline wittmann44

  • Pegasus
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
  • Retired professional engineer BSc.Eng M.I.Mech.E
Re: Avast - Performance Scan
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2020, 01:33:01 PM »
LATEST 080920

Avast version 20.7.2425 Build 20.7.5568.591 release date 1 September 2020

After a long period of success in having the Performance deleted from the scan - its back !!
Cleanup is still unchecked yet the Performance is still included in the scan - how can I get rid of it ?
UTRINQUE PARATUS

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83750
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast - Performance Scan
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2020, 02:41:51 PM »
Not sure what it is that you are seeing, a screenshot might help.

There is a new Title in the Smart Scan 'Advanced Issues' if that is what you mean ?
This I feel is no more than a vehicle to promote other Avast products, and is just one of the reasons I don't run the NOT so Smart Scan (outside of forum questions).
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.595) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline wittmann44

  • Pegasus
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
  • Retired professional engineer BSc.Eng M.I.Mech.E
Re: Avast - Performance Scan
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2020, 05:27:29 PM »
Not sure what it is that you are seeing, a screenshot might help.

There is a new Title in the Smart Scan 'Advanced Issues' if that is what you mean ?
This I feel is no more than a vehicle to promote other Avast products, and is just one of the reasons I don't run the NOT so Smart Scan (outside of forum questions).

Thank you - here are my screen shots. I only use Avast Smart Scan occasionally, I find SuperAntiSpyware a much better option.
I don't want the Avast VPN thrust up my nose, I have my own

Scan settings - CLEANUP unchecked


Scan with the damned ADVANCED ISSUES showing


Unwanted RESULT - if I resolved these I would scuttle my own ship.

« Last Edit: September 08, 2020, 06:18:05 PM by wittmann44 »
UTRINQUE PARATUS

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83750
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast - Performance Scan
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2020, 07:55:11 PM »
Not sure what it is that you are seeing, a screenshot might help.

There is a new Title in the Smart Scan 'Advanced Issues' if that is what you mean ?
This I feel is no more than a vehicle to promote other Avast products, and is just one of the reasons I don't run the NOT so Smart Scan (outside of forum questions).

Thank you - here are my screen shots. I only use Avast Smart Scan occasionally, I find SuperAntiSpyware a much better option.
I don't want the Avast VPN thrust up my nose, I have my own

Scan settings - CLEANUP unchecked
<snip image>

Scan with the damned ADVANCED ISSUES showing
<snip image>

Unwanted RESULT - if I resolved these I would scuttle my own ship.
<snip image>

This is where I was confused the use of the term "Performance Scan" when I couldn't see this anywhere.

And the Advanced issues being a very much a catch all term that could mean anything.  As I mentioned, I feel is no more than a vehicle to promote other Avast products. 

In all honesty I would abandon any on-demand scan including the NOT so damn Smart Scan. 

You can run the Outdated Apps scan (Software Updater in the UI Performance section.  And the WiFi Inspector Scan, these I would say are worth at least running now and again, but the Outdated Apps should notify about those outdated apps that it covers.

As far as Cleanup goes, not having it installed is in fact the norm for Avast Free as it is a paid product, but avast are still going to try and push it.  If you don't run the NOT so Smart Scan this really isn't an issue.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.595) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline wittmann44

  • Pegasus
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
  • Retired professional engineer BSc.Eng M.I.Mech.E
Re: Avast - Performance Scan
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2020, 08:03:59 PM »
Not sure what it is that you are seeing, a screenshot might help.

There is a new Title in the Smart Scan 'Advanced Issues' if that is what you mean ?
This I feel is no more than a vehicle to promote other Avast products, and is just one of the reasons I don't run the NOT so Smart Scan (outside of forum questions).

Thank you - here are my screen shots. I only use Avast Smart Scan occasionally, I find SuperAntiSpyware a much better option.
I don't want the Avast VPN thrust up my nose, I have my own

Scan settings - CLEANUP unchecked
<snip image>

Scan with the damned ADVANCED ISSUES showing
<snip image>

Unwanted RESULT - if I resolved these I would scuttle my own ship.
<snip image>

This is where I was confused the use of the term "Performance Scan" when I couldn't see this anywhere.

And the Advanced issues being a very much a catch all term that could mean anything.  As I mentioned, I feel is no more than a vehicle to promote other Avast products. 

In all honesty I would abandon any on-demand scan including the NOT so damn Smart Scan. 

You can run the Outdated Apps scan (Software Updater in the UI Performance section.  And the WiFi Inspector Scan, these I would say are worth at least running now and again, but the Outdated Apps should notify about those outdated apps that it covers.

As far as Cleanup goes, not having it installed is in fact the norm for Avast Free as it is a paid product, but avast are still going to try and push it.  If you don't run the NOT so Smart Scan this really isn't an issue.

Brilliant David - a perfect reply that settles it all for me. ;D
UTRINQUE PARATUS

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83750
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast - Performance Scan
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2020, 08:45:38 PM »
<snip quotes>
Brilliant David - a perfect reply that settles it all for me. ;D

You're welcome.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.595) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro