Author Topic: accessing menu fails  (Read 3489 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline billh3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
accessing menu fails
« on: August 12, 2020, 03:26:01 AM »
Hello:
I have a password to log into my account/Avast program
I have a "special" password for my Privacy/Password List.
...but if I try to enter the menu options in the main program, I am asked for a password, of which neither of mine work.
help needed.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76039
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: accessing menu fails
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2020, 05:24:51 AM »
...but if I try to enter the menu options in the main program, I am asked for a password, of which neither of mine work.
help needed.
-> https://support.avast.com/article/Remove-Antivirus-password
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline billh3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: accessing menu fails
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2020, 03:57:48 AM »
Thank you for the reply. In my research I did find all of that information already. I don't want to have to risk losing all of my passwords if I need to reinstall Avast. I don't see how reinstalling will reveal my password when I try to enter the settings tab. I already have a password for the main program, and a unique password for my Privacy/Passwords. When entering the Menu, is entering a password a new feature. I don't recall ever having to do this in the past.
Getting back to my fear of losing data upon reinstalling Avast, is all my password data stored "in the cloud"?, so that there is no risk of losing data? I'm a bit naive on these matters.
Thanks.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76039
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: accessing menu fails
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2020, 06:13:09 AM »
You're welcome. If you don't want to reinstall use the other option (Remove the aswResp.dat file).
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0