Author Topic: Zone Alarm problem  (Read 3541 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sgrbrlnd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Zone Alarm problem
« on: September 25, 2006, 08:26:41 PM »
During Zone Alarm installation , Avast pops up a message asking a "yes" about a fix allowing  the coesistence of both on the system.I replied yes,but Avast failed its work....and
though Z.A. said that installation was succesfully ended , after rebooting, the ZA icons did not
appear on system tray and the customization could not be done ...so that the browser could not access internet !.
I had to uninstall Z.A. In winMe environment  I had both products working,...now I've just installed WinXP and there is this problem.My English language is not too good...I've not hunderstood the real problem,
How can I have both installed ?
Thanks a lot.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 81620
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Zone Alarm problem
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2006, 09:04:19 PM »
The compatability dialogue is only of a concern if you have the ZA Pro version (and if you use the Privacy set to High), if you have the free version of ZA you should answer NO.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.6.2383 (build: 19.6.4546.508)/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Zone Alarm problem
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2006, 09:10:12 PM »
Can you rephrase the sequence of installation?
1.  avast
2.  ZA
3.  upgrade to XP  ???

Right now, what do you have installed?
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 81620
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Zone Alarm problem
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2006, 09:17:18 PM »
If the XP install was an update as Tech queries you would need to reinstall avast for it to work properly in XP. So was it an XP upgrade and if so did you uninstall, boot and reinstall avast ?
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.6.2383 (build: 19.6.4546.508)/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline sgrbrlnd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Zone Alarm problem
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2006, 09:52:56 AM »
I've installed XP...then Avast....then ZA (that failed !).

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Zone Alarm problem
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2006, 02:07:44 PM »
I've installed XP...then Avast....then ZA (that failed !).
It seems a problem while installing ZA... I suppose you're trying to install the ZA free version (and not the trial or Pro versions).
Is there a process called vsmon.exe running (click CTRL+ALT+DEL to see).
The best things in life are free.

Offline sgrbrlnd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Zone Alarm problem
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2006, 09:28:33 AM »
Zone Lab has given to me the instructions to make a clean uninstall . I've done...before reinstalling ZA I'd like to uninstall Avast (then install it after ZA) .
Does Avast require a clean uninstall ...or something like that..
Many thanks.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Zone Alarm problem
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2006, 01:38:00 PM »
Does Avast require a clean uninstall ...or something like that.
Generarlly, not. But if you want (or need) to do a clean installation, follow:
1. Uninstall avast from Control Panel first.
2. Boot
3. Use Avast Uninstall for complete uninstallation (read http://www.avast.com/eng/avast_uninstall_util.html)
4. Boot
5. Install again.
6. Boot
The best things in life are free.