Author Topic: Boot time scan screen black ????  (Read 5833 times)

spudman

Boot time scan screen black ????
« on: October 08, 2006, 07:06:30 PM »
Hi there. I am having a bit of trouble with the boot time scan option in avast. I have been using Avast for about 4 years now and its an amazing bit of kit and i have never had any troubles up until now. When ever i do a boot time scan, the scan runs as normal but there is no display. I know that it is running the scan as the hard drive light is flashing. I have seen a couple of posts on this issue in the forum but there still seems to be no answer to it. I have checked my boot.ini file etc etc. I am wondering if its some thing to do with the graphics card possibly, as when i was using an agp card i had no troubles but since changing to pci-e on sli i seem to have this issue. Can anybody put some light onto this subject as it is becoming a real pain.

Regards
Spudman

Offline Vlk

• Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Boot time scan screen black ????
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2006, 07:17:03 PM »
Please check this (2+ years old) thread: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=6960.0

This is usually caused by the /noguiboot option specified in boot.ini.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

spudman

« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2006, 07:24:03 PM »
Ok thanks for your speedy reply  ;D. I have checked the boot.ini file here is a copy of it

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin  /fastdetect

I see there is no /noguiboot option in the file to delete.

spudman

« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2006, 10:30:44 PM »
Any ideas  ???

Offline igor

• Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
    • AVAST Software
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2006, 10:38:34 PM »