Author Topic: avast! & XP64  (Read 6714 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline XXLBony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
avast! & XP64
« on: October 16, 2006, 10:04:35 PM »
When I run avast!, it hide.
Sorry for my English....


Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11722
    • AVAST Software
Re: avast! & XP64
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2006, 12:30:36 AM »
Can you be a little more specific, please? What exactly does it mean, "hide"?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: avast! & XP64
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2006, 12:57:44 AM »
Besides what Igor said, we will need more information to be able to help you:

- Which OS are you using? Is it up to date?
- What avast! version and VPS file (virus database) number?
- Which actions have you taken to try solving the problem?
- Do you use a firewall? Which one?
- Do you have any other antivirus installed in your system?
- Any other security programs that could interfere?
The best things in life are free.

Offline XXLBony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: avast! & XP64
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2006, 12:07:29 PM »
MB A8N-SLI Deluxe
CPU AMD Athlon x62 Dual Core 4400+ 2.21GHz
RAM 1G
HD Seagate SATA2 RAID 1
Vcard Extreme N6800/TD/256M

OS: Microsoft Windows Professional x64 Edition Version 2003
SP1 (its up to date)

I use Windows FireWall, Windows Defender ver. 1.1.1347.0 engine
ver. 1.1.1603.0, AVAST! 4.7 Professional ver. 4.7.892 VPS ver.0641-5

I dont have  any other antivirus.
When I run avast!, it scans memory, but after scan avast! window
doesn't appear at the screen. When I reboot system the window
appear at the screen and then close.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: avast! & XP64
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2006, 01:46:33 PM »
When I run avast!, it scans memory, but after scan avast! window doesn't appear at the screen. When I reboot system the window appear at the screen and then close.
Can you test this?

Select START > RUN ...
Enter the following command:
C:\WINDOWS\SysWOW64\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX

Press OK (or Enter).
A message saying that the file was successfully registered should appear...

If that does not work, seems that for some reason, ActiveSkin (the 3rd party library avast uses for skinning) does not seem to be working on your system. As a workaround, we may disable skinning in avast - that should solve the problem. To do that, open the file <avast>\data\avast4.ini, look up the [UserInterface] section, and add the following entry:

StartWithSkin=0
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11722
    • AVAST Software
Re: avast! & XP64
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2006, 04:44:53 PM »
Do you use any "skinning" programs?

Offline XXLBony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: avast! & XP64
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2006, 09:13:20 PM »
When I run avast!, it scans memory, but after scan avast! window doesn't appear at the screen. When I reboot system the window appear at the screen and then close.
Can you test this?

Select START > RUN ...
Enter the following command:
C:\WINDOWS\SysWOW64\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX

Press OK (or Enter).
A message saying that the file was successfully registered should appear...

If that does not work, seems that for some reason, ActiveSkin (the 3rd party library avast uses for skinning) does not seem to be working on your system. As a workaround, we may disable skinning in avast - that should solve the problem. To do that, open the file <avast>\data\avast4.ini, look up the [UserInterface] section, and add the following entry:

StartWithSkin=0

This didnt help me...  :(

Do you use any "skinning" programs?



May be WinAmp....

Offline XXLBony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: avast! & XP64
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2006, 09:30:39 PM »
Avast! 4.7 Russian Edition

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11722
    • AVAST Software
Re: avast! & XP64
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2006, 10:49:56 PM »
Do you use any "skinning" programs?

May be WinAmp....

No, I meant some tool that adds skinning to your whole system - something like WindowBlinds, IconPackager, ...

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: avast! & XP64
« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2006, 03:28:46 AM »
No, I meant some tool that adds skinning to your whole system - something like WindowBlinds, IconPackager, ...
Igor is refering to a theme application.
The best things in life are free.

Offline XXLBony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: avast! & XP64
« Reply #10 on: October 18, 2006, 10:27:31 AM »
I don't have theme application.
When I installed avast!, It worked.
May be NVIDIA drivers for video card?

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11722
    • AVAST Software
Re: avast! & XP64
« Reply #11 on: October 18, 2006, 05:43:00 PM »
Well, everything is possible, but it's hard to say for sure. Can you post a list of running processes, please (when avast! is invisible on background) - e.g. screenshot(s) from the Task Manager?
Thanks!

Offline XXLBony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: avast! & XP64
« Reply #12 on: October 18, 2006, 11:22:59 PM »
I unistalled NVIDIA video card drivers. Then reboot.
AVAST! run.
I install drive again. AVAST! work!
Thanks.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: avast! & XP64
« Reply #13 on: October 19, 2006, 03:16:06 AM »
I unistalled NVIDIA video card drivers. Then reboot.
AVAST! run.
I install drive again. AVAST! work!
Gremlins  ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline XXLBony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: avast! & XP64
« Reply #14 on: October 19, 2006, 02:10:26 PM »
When I enabled NVIDIA desktop features and then reboot,
avast! window doesn't appear.
And when I disables NVIDIA desktop features and then reboot,
avast! window appear.
NVIDIA drivers version is 91.36 or 91.35