Author Topic: Msn replicant  (Read 2917 times)

khonles

Msn replicant
« on: September 02, 2007, 12:21:56 PM »
Hi, everyone, I wasn't concentrating and foolishly opened a photo zip file while talking with a friend on msn and managed to load a replicant virus. It throws up two trojans which are instantly picked up by Avast! and I duly delete them, but when I sign on to explorer the next time the same thing happens again.
 I am not a techie but suspected the problem was in the registry and after some detective work isolated an entry :- HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\microsoft\windows\current version\run\microsoft visual application\winsyshp.exe

My friend had somebody isolate and delete her virus but the exe. filename at the end was different to mine so I am reluctant to delete this file, so I thought I had better seek your advice, cheers,

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Msn replicant
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2007, 02:44:34 PM »
A google search for the file name returns many hits, http://www.google.com/search?q=winsyshp.exe. This is just one of them, http://www.sophos.com/security/analyses/w32delfext.html.

- Most Delf Trojans add a Startup entry:  Startup Entry Name, SysService  - Process Name, SysService.exe
Use Task Manager to End the Process. Also to end the startup entry, Windows Start, Run, type 'msconfig without the quotes, in the new window select the Startup Tab, find the SysService entry and uncheck it.

If you really want to be sure then you should check it against a multi-engine scanner at: VirusTotal - Multi engine on-line virus scanner I feel virustotal is the better option as it uses the windows version of avast (more packers supported) and there are currently 30 different scanners.