Author Topic: [WORKAROUND] Avast UI process not running  (Read 2787 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Chaves

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
[WORKAROUND] Avast UI process not running
« on: December 20, 2020, 12:24:49 AM »
Hi

Does Avast not anymore runs at startup?

The issue. After turning on my computer, change user , whatever... if I try to check a file using the Explorer option "scan selected items for viruses" I've got an error window saying

Error
Avast UI process (AvastUI.exe) is currently not running.
Please run the application before starting a scan.

Really?
Is Avast not ready to go when I start my PC or change user?

What am I missing here?
In fact, Avast icon does not show at windows notification area. I've tried to look for a "start with Windows option" in settings with no results.
Over task manager does not appear in Applications, but running in background I can see Avast antivirus, the engine server, firewall service remediation exe, service and software analyzer.
Over Startup there's Avast AvLaunch component, activated and no measure at startup impact.
Over services, running, Avast! Antivirus, Firewall, Tools and AvastWscReporter

Is this the way it works? First open Avast and then check a file or there's something wrong here?

Thanks for reading.
Any help/answer would be appreciated.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2020, 08:06:35 PM by Chaves »
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits running on an Intel Core i3-4160CPU@3.60GHz processor based x64 machine with 8.00GB

Offline MRTMN

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Avast UI process not running
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2020, 01:22:06 AM »
I suspect your issue is related to mine (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=244983.0). I cannot scan from right click either, although I'm not getting an error - simply nothing happens.

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86512
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast UI process not running
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2020, 01:51:22 AM »
@  Chaves
I'm not sure if your case is exactly the same as this, but it is worth a shot.
Avast UI Failed to Load - See https://support.avast.com/article/Troubleshoot-Embarrassing-UI-Failed-load.

Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline John Riviera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • My site
Re: Avast UI process not running
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2020, 10:38:11 AM »
What about reinstall?

Offline Chaves

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast UI process not running
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2020, 11:12:55 AM »
What about reinstall?

Hi John

Yes. I've done it already.
I've fully uninstalled Avast.
Used Revo Uninstaller for it. It runs Avast Uninstaller then looks for files and folders lost in my PC and let me choose which an if I want or not delete them. It cleans any registry entry left behind. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Revo_Uninstaller).
Then I manually searched for any footprint that could even remain. Used Everything for it (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Everything_(software)) and if something has «Avast» in name I could find it. No traces. The same thing with Windows registry. All clean.

As the issue persisted, I even tried to install Avast free just in case. No chance. The right click option availabe in Windows explorer just give me the same error.

Lots of install, reboot, uninstall, reboot, reinstal... till I come here  ;D
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits running on an Intel Core i3-4160CPU@3.60GHz processor based x64 machine with 8.00GB

Offline Chaves

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast UI process not running
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2020, 12:50:54 PM »
I suspect your issue is related to mine (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=244983.0). I cannot scan from right click either, although I'm not getting an error - simply nothing happens.

Well, seems similar although I've not Malwarebytes installed.
I've searched for Malwarebytes footprints in my PC and I've found some cached data from a long (very long) time ago in browsers folders. just it. There's nothing in Windows folders, system folders...
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits running on an Intel Core i3-4160CPU@3.60GHz processor based x64 machine with 8.00GB

Offline Chaves

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast UI process not running
« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2020, 02:00:47 PM »
I'm not sure if your case is exactly the same as this, but it is worth a shot.
Avast UI Failed to Load - See https://support.avast.com/article/Troubleshoot-Embarrassing-UI-Failed-load.

Hi David
Tkx. I've just tryed it.
1. Downloaded the Avast Uninstall Tool avastclear (just in case...)
2. Executed it in safety mode as asked
3. Instead of using my previous Avast Antivirus Setup_offline I'd got I...
4. Downloaded avast_premium_security_setup_online.exe
5. Reinstalled Avast Premium Security

and now? the issue persists...  :(
It's not a big deal, but as from the post this is "Embarrassing"...
I think if there are so many issues like this, this should not happen so often. Just my idea. This is not just about virus, but also about users and customers.
Free or paid, good software must be user friendly. And I've tried and tried... many time lost. Too many time.   :'(

Even so, thank you to you and all who tried to help
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits running on an Intel Core i3-4160CPU@3.60GHz processor based x64 machine with 8.00GB

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86512
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast UI process not running
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2020, 03:01:03 PM »
You're welcome.

Yes software should work seamlessly, its why it is tested and also beta tested before release, but still things happen.  Whilst it has never happened to me.

You could try the Generate a support package https://www.avast.com/en-gb/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle as this could gather useful information for avast to help resolve it.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline MRTMN

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Avast UI process not running
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2020, 04:54:02 PM »
I suspect your issue is related to mine (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=244983.0). I cannot scan from right click either, although I'm not getting an error - simply nothing happens.

Well, seems similar although I've not Malwarebytes installed.
I've searched for Malwarebytes footprints in my PC and I've found some cached data from a long (very long) time ago in browsers folders. just it. There's nothing in Windows folders, system folders...

FWIW, I have no reason to think that MBAM is the cause (In fact, removing it doesn't fix the problem) just sharing the configuration for troubleshooting.

Offline Chaves

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast UI process not running
« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2020, 08:01:46 PM »
Yes software should work seamlessly, its why it is tested and also beta tested before release, but still things happen.  Whilst it has never happened to me.
Yes, I'm also a beta tester for a lot of software. And a translator too. I know sometimes it's hard to solve an issue or even reproduce it again.

Quote
You could try the Generate a support package https://www.avast.com/en-gb/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle as this could gather useful information for avast to help resolve it.

I've no more time to spend with this.  >:(
And I don't believe that with so many users reporting similar issues it will be soon solved.

***WORKAROUND***
1. create an Avast shortcut icon in desktop
 - Windows start key
 - look for Avast > right click > more > open destination folder
 - drag the shortcut to desktop (the copy option should be the default)
2. open Windows all users startup folder (*)(**)
 - windows key + R
 - type shell:common startup (if wanted for ALL users) or shell:startup (just for current user)
 - drag the Avast desktop icon shortcut inside the explorer's window opened
 - can be copied, moved, w***  ;D now this is up with you. You're a Windows user, aren't you? :devil:
3. restart the computer, the user... something. The coffee machine is useless but one can always try...

Now, every time we start the computer Avast is also started and the explorer's right click options to scan a file or any of the Avast others options just work fine.

Hope this solution can help someone. Not the best, I know but...
If interested take a look at Reply #12

Would like to ear from MRTMN...

(*) There are more ways to open the startup folder. Use the one you're more comfortable with.
(**) This is intended for Win10. Any other Windows version look for the right way to do the same
« Last Edit: December 21, 2020, 11:26:47 AM by Chaves »
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits running on an Intel Core i3-4160CPU@3.60GHz processor based x64 machine with 8.00GB

Offline MRTMN

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Avast UI process not running
« Reply #10 on: December 20, 2020, 09:38:52 PM »
Yes software should work seamlessly, its why it is tested and also beta tested before release, but still things happen.  Whilst it has never happened to me.
Yes, I'm also a beta tester for a lot of software. And a translator too. I know sometimes it's hard to solve an issue or even reproduce it again.

Quote
You could try the Generate a support package https://www.avast.com/en-gb/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle as this could gather useful information for avast to help resolve it.

I've no more time to spend with this.  >:(
And I don't believe that with so many users reporting similar issues it will be soon solved.

***WORKAROUND***
1. create an Avast shortcut icon in desktop
 - Windows start key
 - look for Avast > right click > more > open destination folder
 - drag the shortcut to desktop (the copy option should be the default)
2. open Windows all users startup folder (*)(**)
 - windows key + R
 - type shell:common startup (if wanted for ALL users) or shell:startup (just for current user)
 - drag the Avast desktop icon shortcut inside the explorer's window opened
 - can be copied, moved, w***  ;D now this is up with you. You're a Windows user, aren't you? :devil:
3. restart the computer, the user... something. The coffee machine is useless but one can always try...

Now, every time we start the computer Avast is also started and the explorer's right click options to scan a file or any of the Avast others options just work fine.

Hope this solution can help someone. Not the best, I know but...
Would like to ear from MRTMN...

(*) There are more ways to open the startup folder. Use the one you're more confortable with.
(**) This is intended for Win10. Any other Windows version look for the right way to do the same

So, I read what you did and tried something:

Every time I've repaired or reinstalled Avast, after the first reboot I've deleted the desktop shortcut Avast creates (I don't like to clutter my desktop).

1) I reinstalled Avast.
2) I rebooted. Avast worked.
3) I deleted the desktop shortcut and rebooted.
4) Avast would not open from the system tray or the start menu. Scans could not be started from right click.
5) I restored the desktop shortcut and rebooted.
6) Avast worked.

For some reason, deleting a shortcut appears to completely break Avast all of a sudden.

Offline Chaves

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast UI process not running
« Reply #11 on: December 21, 2020, 11:13:21 AM »
For some reason, deleting a shortcut appears to completely break Avast all of a sudden.

LOL  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Ok. That's easy.
- create a new icon with a program that best fits you (any solid color for background, no foreground, make background transparent, save it)
- right click Avast desktop icon > properties > shortcut tab >change icon
- search... (choose «your transparent icon»)
- apply

DONE!...

 ;D ;D ;D

Don't forget it's still there and you still have an uncluttered desktop

OMG! What these newbies invent  8)
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits running on an Intel Core i3-4160CPU@3.60GHz processor based x64 machine with 8.00GB

Offline Chaves

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast UI process not running
« Reply #12 on: December 21, 2020, 11:23:18 AM »
Now, every time we start the computer Avast is also started and the explorer's right click options to scan a file or any of the Avast others options just work fine.

JIT
If you don't want Avast window to popup into the desktop you can make it run minimized

1. in the startup folder you've choose right click the Avast shortcut
2. properties > shortcut tab > run dropdown menu choose minimized

That's it
 ;)
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits running on an Intel Core i3-4160CPU@3.60GHz processor based x64 machine with 8.00GB

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2298
Re: [WORKAROUND] Avast UI process not running
« Reply #13 on: December 21, 2020, 12:55:53 PM »
@MRTMN,
 
After you delete the desktop shortcut, do you still see AvastUI.exe in C:\Program Files\Avast Software\Avast\

Offline MRTMN

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: [WORKAROUND] Avast UI process not running
« Reply #14 on: December 21, 2020, 04:09:45 PM »
@MRTMN,
 
After you delete the desktop shortcut, do you still see AvastUI.exe in C:\Program Files\Avast Software\Avast\

I tried it and checked:

1) Deleted Shortcut
2) Rebooted
3) Avast could not be invoked.
4) Yes, AvastUI.exe remained in C:\Program Files\Avast Software\Avast\
5) Restored Shortcut
6) Rebooted
7) Avast working as expected

Interestingly, I noticed when restoring the shortcut from the recycle bin something very unexpected: I had to provide administrator permission to restore the shortcut to the desktop.