Author Topic: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not  (Read 9495 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sunsets44

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« on: December 26, 2020, 06:20:26 AM »
After restarting my laptop, Windows 10, I got a popup saying I am connected to a new network and to scan network. I did not connect to a new network. It is the same WiFi one I always use. Using Avast Free 20.4.2410 (build 20.4.5312.583)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76032
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2020, 07:24:03 AM »
Update to the latest version (20.10.2442): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=243196.0
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline sunsets44

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2020, 03:05:10 PM »
I've updated. Wi-Fi Inspector says I'm on a public network when it should say private.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76032
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2020, 03:11:30 PM »
Reboot twice.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline sunsets44

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2020, 03:24:17 PM »
Done. Now, it says New Device Notification. How do I know that it's detecting I'm on a private network?

What causes the new network detection popup when I did not connect to one? I've been using Avast for many years and never have had this problem before when using an older version. I bank, pay bills, and shop online. So, it's a concern to me.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76032
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2020, 08:38:57 AM »
You can adjust/disable it in the settings.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline sunsets44

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2020, 06:49:57 PM »
Thank you.  Still would like to know what causes the new network detection popup when I did not connect to one.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89323
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2020, 07:25:06 PM »
Thank you.  Still would like to know what causes the new network detection popup when I did not connect to one.

Without more details, it would be very hard to say. 

It doesn't necessarily mean 'you' are making a new network connection, but an outside source making that connection.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline sunsets44

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2020, 08:19:12 PM »

It doesn't necessarily mean 'you' are making a new network connection, but an outside source making that connection.

It's the possibility of an outside source making that connection that concerns me.  Every night I run CCleaner, Avast, and Malwarebytes. Some times after running them, I can not connect to the internet and have to restart my laptop. That's what happened when the pop up appeared. It never happened before.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89323
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2020, 08:52:23 PM »

It doesn't necessarily mean 'you' are making a new network connection, but an outside source making that connection.

It's the possibility of an outside source making that connection that concerns me.  Every night I run CCleaner, Avast, and Malwarebytes. Some times after running them, I can not connect to the internet and have to restart my laptop. That's what happened when the pop up appeared. It never happened before.

Well that is the point of having the the WiFi Inspector function.

That said, if you have your network buttoned up, set up as Private and with strong WPA2 security and access requiring a password to access the network from outside your personal private network.  Then you are much less vulnerable, but you are getting a warning of someone 'trying' to gain access.

It is going to mean checking the logs to get an idea of where the attempt came from and by whom/what (possibly).
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline sunsets44

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2020, 10:51:27 PM »
Yes, my network is Private and strong WPA2. 

I have no idea how to check logs or what to look for.

Offline sunsets44

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2020, 11:52:59 PM »
I figured out how to check the logs. However, I have no idea what to look for.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89323
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2020, 12:40:02 AM »
I figured out how to check the logs. However, I have no idea what to look for.

Are you clicking the Show Last Result as that showed me what had actually 'connected' (or somewhere else) ?

So if you don't see anything outside of things like your PC, Mobile or Tablet (things that you use normally), then there may have been an attempt but not connected.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline sunsets44

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« Reply #13 on: December 29, 2020, 02:35:38 AM »
I must be viewing the log a different way than you are. I used Event Viewer, so it only shows my laptop.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89323
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Pop up saying connected to new network when I did not
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2020, 04:17:34 AM »
Are you actually connecting any other devices to your network (as I mentioned PC, Mobile or Tablet). Look at at the image that I attached in Reply #9, that is directly from the Avast UI > Menu > Protection > WiFi inspector - and click the show last report button.

Have you actually run a specific WiFi Inspector scan ?

I wouldn't begin to know where to look in the Event Viewer, if it would even place entries for any WiFi Inspector notifications/alerts.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security