Author Topic: Help with Eicar Tests  (Read 8499 times)

galloway_777

Help with Eicar Tests
« on: November 14, 2006, 03:36:08 AM »
Hi everyone. I'm a newb here so let me start by saying "hello."

I have Avast 4.7 and I have a couple questions about the Eicar test files. Awhile back I went to http://www.eicar.org/anti_virus_test_file.htm and tested avast against all four of the files on that site. It detected all of them, and I would click delete, and avast would close the download box. NOW, when I do it, it detects the first one, but will not close the download box after pressing delete. The second file opens some kinda script page, and the 3rd and 4th aren't detected! Anyone know why this could be?

I'm worried that perhaps avast isn't performing as well as it should be due to a glitch or something.

Offline Tarq57

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Help with Eicar Tests
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2006, 09:04:23 AM »
Been there, done that! No problem at all. Unless I'm wrong, you saved the file rather than running it. (This hopefully mimics real life.) Avast doesn't detect the second file because it is simple text, not anything executable. If you tried to run it it would alarm. The third and fourth files are zipped and double zipped respectively. Nothing (I believe) can run from a zipped file until it is unzipped. (The 4th one needs 2 unzippings.) Try it, and you'll see what happens.
If you go to the Eicar site again, and just click to run each of these in turn from the upper menu, Avast won't even let the page load-it will block it.
This was kindly explained to me by one of the more senior people here when I had a similar query. http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=24566.msg201358#msg201358
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.

Offline igor

• Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
    • AVAST Software
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2006, 09:53:43 AM »